1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Restart

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by DPM, Feb 19, 2013.

  1. DPM

    DPM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi, Can anyone tell my how to stop my computer from rebooting after I shut it down, within 1 minute of shutting it down it reboots automatically.
    I am running windows vista on it, I have searched windows web site,and tried windows help for a solution but have no success.
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. Ripper

    Ripper Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,954
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    You shut down aka power off the PC, and then it reboots itself? Just want to make sure everyone's on the same page; not come across this before.
  4. DPM

    DPM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah Ripper thats exactly what is happening, the first time it happened I thought i was after hitting the restart button, its quiet wierd as it can be shut down for as long 30 seconds before booting up again, bloody gremlins
  5. Ripper

    Ripper Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,954
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Download and run hijack this with your PC booted up normally, and then post the log here. I think it's probably more likely a virus/malware issue than something hardware but we'll see.
  6. DPM

    DPM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Tried that Ripper. Downloaded and ran hijack this,the following error message occured while running the program....For some reason your system denied write access to the hosts file. "If any hijacked domains are in this file, hijack this may not be able to fix this."
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,664
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    try it in safemode.
  8. aldan

    aldan Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    hjt is only a 32 bit program and will give that message on 64 bit machines.just disregard it.
  9. DPM

    DPM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    got log using safe mode however its a page & a half long, is there any way that I can post it as an attachment???
  10. berrymartin

    berrymartin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Your computer may be encountering a blue screen when you shut down your machine. The default action after encountering a blue screen is for your system to restart. As a first step try visiting your computer manufacturer's website to find the support/download section. Then download and install the latest available drivers for your computer's hardware.

    Regards,
    Berry Martin
  11. DPM

    DPM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks Berry Martin Thats not the problem, I have Blue Screen View installed on the computer and anytime I open it there are no items inside.
    That leads me to believe that I dont have a blue screen of death problem.
    The computer never crashes this only happens at shutdown
  12. JST1946

    JST1946 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I had a similar problem with my computer rebooting all the time.It was caused by a program I had installed on it.I had to uninstall each program to see which one was causing the problem.It turned out to be the Nero program causing it.After I re-installed Nero and did an update my problem went away.
  13. DPM

    DPM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks JST 1946. Will check that out as I also have nero on my computer will let you know how I get on.Cheers
  14. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,664
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    try system restore to before the problem started.
  15. xboxdvl2

    xboxdvl2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    48
    ive had a similar problem on a pentium 2 computer running windows 98.had to hold down the power button after shutdown (for about 40secs) or it would just reboot.
  16. DPM

    DPM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Unable to do a system restore as one of the kids decided to recoop some space on the external hard drive I use for backing up purposes, to save some computer games he downloaded. Unfortunatley my system backup was one of the items he got rid of.
    At this stage I think I will just have to reformat and start all over again. Thanks for all the inputs much appreciated

Share This Page