1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ribbon Cable Help

Discussion in 'PS2' started by _D3DAiM_, Jan 31, 2004.

  1. _D3DAiM_

    _D3DAiM_ Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    This sucks. I was taking my No Solder V4 modchip out in preporation for my DMS3 to get installed, so it wouldn't interfere with the new mod. I took it out and replaced the Ribbon cable in its original position. Then I played my playstation, and it work fine. After a few resets, the lights (both red and green) stopped working, but the games still played. In a few minutes I couldn't eject! I found out it was because that the ribbon cable was loose. If a push up on the ribbon cable, it works regularly, but when I let go, it goes bad. Any ideas to fix this? Has anyone had this simalar problem?
     
  2. Cyprien

    Cyprien Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    on what side? of the mobo or the side of the buttons?

    if it's the mobo always remmber to lock the cable.... it's that brown lock that close the cable....

    if it's the buttons part just strech it till it works and use tape to glue it that always works...
     
  3. _D3DAiM_

    _D3DAiM_ Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It's on the mobo. I have locked the brown thing, but it seems it's not tight enough. I don't know what to do...
     
  4. Cyprien

    Cyprien Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cool... well you can always pull it and tape to the dvd like it should be from the start....
     
  5. _D3DAiM_

    _D3DAiM_ Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ??? What do you mean?
     
  6. Cyprien

    Cyprien Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    see the cable that goes from the reset/eject... is taped to the dvd.... sure it's connected to the board but they strech it tape it to the dvd... you should see the tape it's a square inch by inch... square that tapes the cable to the dvd... this was made that way so the cable wont move... that way you NEVER get this crap that the cable wont work.. if dont plan to open the ps2 in some time now... open the ps2 see the cable?... all you do is strech it untill it works and tape it to the dvdrom of the ps2... ONTOP of the dvdrom... and close the ps2 thats about it...
     
  7. _D3DAiM_

    _D3DAiM_ Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'll try it. Have u had this prob before?
     
  8. Cyprien

    Cyprien Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    i had this on my old ps2.... it was on my buttons side... i had to use clear 1 inch tape...
     
  9. _D3DAiM_

    _D3DAiM_ Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Does the 1 inch really matter?
     
  10. Cyprien

    Cyprien Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    tape it... then this wont happen again.. or stop opening the ps2 so much...
     
  11. _D3DAiM_

    _D3DAiM_ Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Lol, ok. Do u think modchipman will f*** it up again.
     
  12. Cyprien

    Cyprien Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    yeah he will... just tell him you got unstable cable in there.. and ask him to fix it... if he dont want... then just tell him to strech and tape it again since you get a chip you wont be needing to open it again anyway so it be fixed...
     
  13. _D3DAiM_

    _D3DAiM_ Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  14. _D3DAiM_

    _D3DAiM_ Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'm afraid that I might have damaged my ribbon cable. Even when I get the ps2 to turn on in sleep mode, it then won't respond to eject or reset from there. I have moved the ribbon cable all over the place with no scuccess...
     
  15. Cloner

    Cloner Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hi there just wondering D3D AiM what u gonna do with the no solder chip?.
     
  16. _D3DAiM_

    _D3DAiM_ Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Lol, Cloner, I broke it in half in frustration, sorry. I'm thinking about buying a new ribbon cable and letting modchipman install it along with my dms3 hopefully. I already emailed him to see if he would for free.
     

Share This Page