1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Right, this is serious - DVD+RW

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by ronyap, May 1, 2007.

  1. ronyap

    ronyap Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    I get a brand new DVD+RW (which I dont usually use) and burn some stuff onto it with 'Data Disc'. Now, I try to format, so I can put new stuff on. But it says that my disc is corrupted for some reason.

    Why is this?!

    Is there something I need to know about DVD+RW?

    Here is the error I get:

    http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b293/Naruto28/Problem.jpg

    Btw, the disc brand is Tuff Disc

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2007
  2. chop2113

    chop2113 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The Brand "Tuff Disc" just might Be your Problem. Never heard of it before.
     
  3. ronyap

    ronyap Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I doubt that its the brand of the disc. Anyone else here use Tuff Disc? I tried it with another Tuff Disc +RW and after, it wouldnt let me format, as if it is a +R. Ive just bought a new set of Sony DVD - RWs and Ill try it with this. I know ones + and ones -, but Ill let you know of the results.

    Oh, and btw, it just wont let me format the disc. The data is still fine, nothing is corrupt.

    Could it be because I havent finalised/closed my disc yet?
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2007
  4. ronyap

    ronyap Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry for double posting but it didnt go well. Even the Sony brand disc didnt give me any results. Why can't I format? If I try to format through the 'Right-click' way, I get this:

    http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b293/Naruto28/errorDrive.jpg

    Please help! I dont know what the problem is. My drive is

    _NEC DVD+-RW ND-6650A

    I really want this solved. Can anyone help?

    Thnaks
     
  5. Molder

    Molder Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Dude, Why are you formatting the disc?

    Use Nero and erase the disc, all will be well.

    M
     
  6. ronyap

    ronyap Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  7. halfhere

    halfhere Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I haven't heard of Data Disc before but it could quite possibly be a setting in there that allows that program to make the cd a read only. Have you looked at the advanced options on that program to see if you can change that?
     
  8. BradleyB

    BradleyB Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    go to infotool within Nero after check is complete//go to ASPI and check nero restart and check rewrite again
     
  9. 300bowler

    300bowler Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Have you tried erasing it with IMGburn
     
  10. Molder

    Molder Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  11. chop2113

    chop2113 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Last edited: May 9, 2007
  12. ronyap

    ronyap Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes! That is exactly my disc, but it says RW on it. But, I also tried it with another RW disc so...

    Yh! when I go to check the burnt Disc, it says that it is a 'DVD-ROM' and 'Read-Only'. It is read-only? How do I get rid of this read only?

    Thanks

    PS. When I format a CD-RW I lose 300 mb of memory. I guess this is supposed to happen?

    EDIT:

    Heres a pic of the info of the disc in Nero and Sonic:

    Nero:

    http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b293/Naruto28/DiscInfo.jpg

    Sonic:

    http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b293/Naruto28/DVDROM.jpg

    Data Disc:

    http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b293/Naruto28/DataDiscSonic.jpg
    http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b293/Naruto28/DataDVDnero.jpg

    EDIT 2:

    Right, Im getting really fed up now. I have just installed InCD off the disc and tried to burn a DVD RW again. This time I realised that I can go into the directory without formatting the NEW disc, so I just dragged my video across. The InCD little box in the corner came up saying something about formatting the DVD for use. Then it transferred. The data is fine. Right, I now try to ERASE the disc...I CANT, coz its greyed out. And if I try to erase using InCD I get this!:



    Here is the procedure I went through:

    Firstly, I got a brand new Sony DVD-RW in my Drive:

    http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b293/Naruto28/1-2.jpg

    Next, I double Clicked it, and added some data by drag n drop:

    http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b293/Naruto28/2-2.jpg

    Now I pop it out, and pop it back in, and this is what I get, I try to erase it with what I have highlighted, namely InCD Erase:

    http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b293/Naruto28/Somecrap.jpg

    This is what I get:

    http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b293/Naruto28/WTH.jpg

    Disc info:

    http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b293/Naruto28/Thing.jpg


    HElp!

     
    Last edited: May 9, 2007
  13. 300bowler

    300bowler Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    just to let you know it is not recommended to install INcd

    also is your firmware up to date?
    like said before
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2007
  14. chop2113

    chop2113 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Did you read up on your drive with the link i gave you. Did you also check to see if you need a firmware update?i believe your new firmware should be 103d and your has 102c. Update your drive try again and report back the results. Here is the link directly to your drives firmware updates. http://forum.rpc1.org/dl_firmware.php?download_id=2114
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2007
  15. ronyap

    ronyap Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am really depressed. It erased ok with Imgburn and DVD decrypter, but now the disc is unusable. I cannot put data on as this is what happens:

    http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b293/Naruto28/Burning.jpg

    Before this, I have checked the Disc info and already knew that the disc 'hasnt' been erased, even though it erased properly in DVD Decrypter AND ImgBurner:

    http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b293/Naruto28/DiscInfo-1.jpg

    http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b293/Naruto28/Discinfo.jpg

    Here is the info of my disc in Img Burner after erasing:

    http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b293/Naruto28/1-3.jpg
    http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b293/Naruto28/2-3.jpg
    http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b293/Naruto28/3.jpg
    http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b293/Naruto28/4.jpg
    http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b293/Naruto28/5.jpg


    Now I am going to try and update my firmware.

    PS.

    Here are my settings in Nero. Anything wrong please tell me:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Sorry about this last picture. Had a bit of prob with paint. You get the idea any ways
     
  16. 300bowler

    300bowler Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    edited
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2007
  17. rocky999

    rocky999 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This is just a shot in the dark but thought I would mention it anyway - even +R disks have the RW logo on them. Make sure the disk that you are using, regardless of the RW logo somewhere, actually says DVD+RW (usually near the speed info). Again, most all disks have an RW logo on them (off to the side) even if they are DVD+R disks.
     
  18. ronyap

    ronyap Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes, I can tell between a RW and an R. I know some discs have RW even though they are just Rs. But mine is 100% definitely RW. And yes! It is book typed as DVD-Rom.

    Right. I have just taken these discs to my friends comp, and it works FINE on his computer. He erased all of the discs I tried and put some data on it successfully (using his computer). He uses the same programme as me (Sonic), and the same tool 'Erase' and 'Data Disc'. I put the disc in my computer, and it can READ fine, but it cannot 'erase' nor 'write'.

    The only conclusion that I can draw from this is that my DVD Drive does not like the discs. T__T . Am I correct? If this is true, may I ask if there are external DVD drives out there? Like there are external Hard Drives. And if so, any brand which is good? That WILL support my discs :p. Anyways, Ill do a google search right now.

    I want to buy a new computer anyways, but people have been complaining about Vista at the mo, saying how crap it is. Is this true? I really want to buy a computer installed with XP, but since its all Vista now :S. I have also heard that it can hardly install any XP software. Like...any software. If this is true, wouldn't there be compatibility issues between XP and vista comp when I burn RW discs with the new Vista computer? I am really reluctant in getting Vista as its new, and unreliable yet. And, I dont want to install XP vista, as, stuff might go wrong, and its a new comp after all, I dont want to mess it up already lol.

    Thanks.

     
  19. little155

    little155 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If you want a computer with XP on it, then locate your nearest Dell dealer. I hear they are the only company still selling computers with XP on them. Sorry, i can't help with your original problem, Later.
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2007
  20. JoeRyan

    JoeRyan Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Your first screenshot shows the radio button for Multisession as checked. Recording this way allows the drive to record more material on the disc at a later time without finalizing it. (Formatting the disc does the same thing, but formats: 1) are not standardized and are incompatible with each other, and 2) take up disc capacity.) You would have to finalize this DVD+RW in order to write the capacity to it and the address structure. Until that time, only the original recording drive should be able to add more data to the disc.

    In order to protect the files already recorded onto the disc, the disc is locked. That's why you can't erase it. Finalize the disc; transfer the files recorded onto it so that you don't lose them in case they are valuable; then erase the disc fully. That will restore it to its original condition. In the future you have the choice of formatting (InCD is perfectly fine if you know how to use it, but DVD+RW generally also allows simple drag and drop functions without a special need to formalize.) or avoiding multisession recordings altogether if you want to take the disc to use in other drives. For now you will have to go through a formal finalization process to get past the multisession lock.
     

Share This Page