1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

rip and burn..novice

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by bribiec, Apr 7, 2007.

1. bribiec

bribiec Member

Hi Guys,
    I know this will upset some of you but I am going to ask what to you might be the obvious...I am a commplete novice when it comes to rip and burn movies..I see there are a few ways of doing this. I would like a very simple system in layman terms. I have downloaded all sorts of programmes and I cant get any to work. they all seem to do the job, but all end in failure...and maybe I have the wrong blank disks...Perhaps someone would be kind enough to advise me as to what programmes I need for this...
    Regards.

2. binkie7

binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

Hi bribiec
    Check out these guides and faq's - bbmayo link.

Didn't say which programs you have tried or errors you get but these guides & faq's should get you going in the right direction.

Still having problems after reviewing - then just post back what movie is giving you a problem, error and what program(s) you tried along with the brand of discs you're using.

edit: spelling :)

Last edited: Apr 7, 2007
  3. saugmon

saugmon Senior member

1)You need to know what size the original dvd that you are ripping. There's the most common Dvd-9's which are the larger/higher budget flicks with lots of bonus features.Dvd shrink 3.2-free- will rip most of either size,except with the newer encryptions.

Dvd9 movies onto Dual layer media: A totally different type of backup. No compression,so a program like Dvd decrypter and Imgburn. No compression,so you can take a straight 1:1 copy with those smaller dvd-5's onto blank single layer media with dvd decrypter and imgburn-unless there's some newer encryption.

Then there's the low budget Dvd-5's.Very small,and not much bonus features.