1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rip Extras or use compression???

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by aut0psy, Aug 21, 2004.

1. aut0psy

aut0psy Regular member

I am new to this and thought everyone here would have insight from there vast amounts of experience I am sure.

What is recommended to keep the SAME qulaity when backups are made?

Do you rip the extras to fit the DVD to a single DVD-R disc or do you use compression?

If using compression, what amount is TOO much compression and what is safe or close to being qulaity reducing?

Just wanting to know what everyone else uses in order to keep the same video/audio quality as the original as I don't want to lose any quality if possible.

Thanks a lot

2. Nephilim

Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

Hi and welcome,

Consider that when a film is compressed there will always be some sort of quality degradation but this depends the amount of compression and the software being used. Most people can't tell a difference when a film is moderately compressed.

That being said you can easily make a 1:1 copy of a DVD-5 since it will fit a single layer blank DVD.

When backing up a DVD-9 you have two choices, one is to split the film across two single layer blanks if you have a single layer burner or if you have a dual layer burner you can make a straight 1:1 copy.

This comes down to personal preference and the equipment you'll be watching your copies on. My best advice is to use some rewritable discs and experiment to see what works for you. Personally, unless the film will fit a single layer blank with little to no compression I'll remove the extras.

Heavy compression such a 50% or so can cause serious quality loss and even playback problems.

This thread is a monster but most of the pertinent information is within the first several pages:

http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/88038

Enjoy :)

3. fasfrank