1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ripping & Editing

Discussion in 'Video problems with Mac' started by nkaryb, Mar 9, 2005.

  1. nkaryb

    nkaryb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi to everyone. Yes, unfortunately I'm totally 'new' to the
    world of DVDs. I've been browsing and reading every post on
    this site trying to teach myself what to do, but I still have a
    question.

    As for my hardware, I have an iMac G5 with the SuperDrive.
    As for software, I have the following titles:

    - Roxio Popcorn
    - Roxio Toast Titanium 6
    - Mac the Ripper
    - Drop2DV
    - DVD2oneX (I have it downloaded, but not purchased it yet. I
    don't want to either if one of the programs I HAVE can take its
    place.)
    - ffmpegX
    - iMovie
    - iDVD

    What I hope someone can help me with, is ripping a DVD that
    I purchased, (Galaxy Quest), editing it so I can take out the
    G--D--- that Tim Allen yelled out in the movie, and then
    SOMEHOW burn the edited movie BACK to a blank DVD-R.

    From reading this forum, I downloaded Mac The Ripper and
    "ripped" the entire disc. But what do I do from here? I tried
    using Drop2DV to convert the ripped files to QuickTime. And
    then I tried using Apple's iMovie to load the QuickTime files
    and edit them. But I'm not having too much success with it.

    So WHAT program(s) should I use? Do I have what I need?
    Should I purchase Apple's DVD Studio Pro 3.0 and/or Apple
    Final Cut Pro 4.5 HD ??? Will either of these programs fill the
    need?

    I really like the movie a lot but my wife and I are offended by
    the bad language. We can't show the movie to our grandkids
    as it is. I would REALLY appreciate it if someone could tell me
    how to copy, edit, and then burn an offending DVD.

    Thank you for your time and assistance!
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2005
  2. Trier

    Trier Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, Final Cut Pro or DVD Studio Pro are not cheap, I can tell you that.

    I use Final Cut Pro 4 at work every day, and it´s very nice. We have also DVD Studio Pro, but I haven´t used it that much yet. It´s one of the best softwares for making your own DVD with menus etc. iDVD sucks. ;)
     
  3. nkaryb

    nkaryb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi Trier,
    Thanks for the info. I have [bold]Final Cut Pro HD[/bold] and have been wading throught the 1,600 page manual but I CANNOT find how to edit and delete a portion of the audio track WHILE leaving the corresponding video segment intact.

    Surely this is possible with a $1,000 program! Isn't it? I could easily do it with iMovie but the video file won't fit in iMovie.

    My intent is to remove one word out of the audio. I marked the word with the (I)n and (O)ut markers. I've tried other markers, too. But once the word is isolated, I cannot find out how to either delete it or reduce the volume of it.

    Is this something you can help me with by pointing me in the right direction?

    Thanks
     
  4. mediaguru

    mediaguru Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Just double click on the audio track and edit it. Or you could load the audio track in another editor like peak or something to edit it.

    I find it amazing that you'd buy two $1000+ programs to edit out one word.

    You must really like that movie.
     
  5. nkaryb

    nkaryb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks "MG" for the response. I tried "double-clicking" the audio track but nothing happens.

    To clarify, when I open the file, I press the [bold]Stereo (a1a2)[/bold] tab at the top of the clip window. (There are four tabs at the top: Video, Stereo (a1a2), Filters, and Motion.) I then see the two audio tracks and their sine waves. THIS is where I try the double-clicking. Am I in the right place? I have read and looked everywhere for another audio track.

    I will look to see if I can find the app PEAK. If I can, I will look into it, too.

    Thanks again for your efforts.

    PS - I am a percussionist, too. Though I haven't played in about six years.
     
  6. mediaguru

    mediaguru Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You SHOULD be able to double click your audio and your "viewer" will have what you want to edit. You are either doing something wrong, or your view window isn't open.

    Sounds like you need to dive into your owner's manual!
     
  7. nkaryb

    nkaryb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the reply.

    Yes, I know. The program is by Apple. Therefore it SHOULD follow the general use, feel and simplicity of the Mac. This is the first program where nothing works like it should. Nothing is intuitive as I've grown to know since my first Mac back in '84.

    Anyway, as I said in my first post, I HAVE been reading the manual... ALL 1,600 pages.

    I did stumble on a workaround. I held the OPTION key down and changed the arrow to a "pen point". I then clicked on the "db" line and added four points/anchors/handles. I then grabbed the two innermost points and dragged them down as far as they could go ( -inf ). This reduced the volume of the edited piece.

    It might not be the right way. It might not be the quickest, most efficient method either. But it worked!

    I will continue my endeavor to read the manual.

    I apologize if I took up too much of your time.
     
  8. mediaguru

    mediaguru Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I took a video clip and followed my own instructions and it worked. I wonder if your audio was formatted differently or something.

    On the ease of use issue, there are hundreds if not thousands of settings, editing buttons, controls etc. It would be difficult to make every one of those features "intuitive." IMHO

     

Share This Page