1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ripping from different drives..

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by jonathan6, Jan 4, 2008.

  1. jonathan6

    jonathan6 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello, I wanted to if computer manufacturers are now able to block people from "ripping" movies. I just recently received a HP laptop and when I try to "rip" a movie using DVD Decryptor their usually is a pop up window with an error message in it, but when I rip movies using a Dell desktop computer using a Mad dog Multimedia drive, more than not it is able to do it.
     
  2. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Try 'DVDFab HD Decrypter' instead and see if the message appears.

    Insert disk, run program select 'Main Movie' or 'Full Disk'

    http://www.dvdfab.com/free.htm
     
  3. simpsim1

    simpsim1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It's not the computer manufacturers causing the problem, but the encryption systems used in making the DVDs. DVD decrypter hasn't been updated for some time now, as the guy who made it originally no longer has any rights to it. So unfortunately, as the encryptions are being changed by the manufacturers, DVD Decrypter can't keep pace.

    The best solutions would be either DVDFab Decrypter as mentioned above (Which is free) or AnyDVD (Which is easier to use but isn't free).
     
  4. saugmon

    saugmon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,064
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Does this new Laptop feature Vista?
     
  5. jonathan6

    jonathan6 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes it does. Both my desktop and laptop are running Vista. I use both programs on both systems, but the ripping from the lap top seems to have problems. I just tried the DVDFab program and I had no trouble ripping from my lap top. I do like DVDFab upon initial trial. What is does lack that DVD shrink has is that you can see exactly what chapters look like in the preview window when one is going to perform a custom burn. It seems in DVD fab I have to preview the whole segment to see were I am in a DVD when I want to rip only certain parts, unless their is a way to fix it. I just tried out the program so I am not quite sure.
     
  6. jonathan6

    jonathan6 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    A little off topic, but who owns the rights to DVD shrink?
     
  7. ZoSoIV

    ZoSoIV Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    same guy that developed nero recode but i can't remember his name
     
  8. Deadrum33

    Deadrum33 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Use Shrink after DVDFAB rips it then. Choose the Open files icon instead of Open disc and choose the location of the file that DVDFAB ripped to.
     
  9. simpsim1

    simpsim1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    AnyDVD is quite a good solution too, as it decrypts any DVD "On the fly" so you can just open the disc with dvd shrink as normal. As I said before though, it's not free.
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2008
  10. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    edited
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2008
  11. simpsim1

    simpsim1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Actually it's not mine either. I meant no offence from the last post. I apologise unreservedly and have removed the offending part of that sentence.
     
  12. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    no problem, in which case i've amended my previous post.
     
  13. jonathan6

    jonathan6 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I checked the files that were made using DVD Fab and I noticed that their was a top black bar and it was like "jittering". Is this normal? Will it transfer to the final burn of the disc?
     
  14. soup1

    soup1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I would suggest running the DvdFab output video files through FixVts & then checking it before carrying on.
     

Share This Page