1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RIPPING MOVIE TO HARD DRIVE

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by megs8888, Jun 26, 2007.

1. megs8888

megs8888 Member

Im new to this stuff and want to backup my original dvd's to a hard drive.
    1. What is the quickest way to do this without losing quality? screenshots would be good?
    2. Can I reduce the movie size at all.
    3. How long should it take to copy 1 dvd to hard drive.
    4. Could I back up 10 films to a 50gb blu ray disc
    5. What would i need to do this and is it cost effective?

thanks guys for any help you can give.

2. IHoe

IHoe Senior member

there are a # of good rippers to rip your movie to the hard drive:

DVDDEcrypter-----old now and not kept up to date
    DVDFab HD Decrypter .... free, and kept up to date
    AnyDVD.......costs money but great ripper

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

you can reduce the movie size to fit a DVD5 with various programs, here are guides to help you along:
    http://webpages.charter.net/bacitup/Guides.htm
    http://www.dvdplusvideo.com/A_F_Guides.html

it shouldn't take more than 15 mins or so to rip to hard drive!

don't know anything about Blu-ray disks....but I guess you could if you follow the guides.... if the drive recognizes it and if the programs will allow buring to Blu-ray disks.....

costs....... vary. some programs are free other's cost money but I still don't know anything about Blu-ray and what programs are good for that format and what the costs will be.

3. megs8888

megs8888 Member

thanks for your help

4. IHoe

IHoe Senior member

you're welcome! welcome to Afterdawn

5. NytBurnr

NytBurnr Regular member

@Ihoe

How do I rip a movie in 15 minutes. When I use AnyDVD direct to Hard Drive it is 40-45 minutes. It usually runs at 2x. Same if I use RipIt4Me with AnyDVD deactivated. This is just ripping time with RipIt4Me, not FixVTS or Shrink.

6. IHoe

IHoe Senior member