1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ripping Speed Help

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by darktree, Jul 25, 2002.

  1. darktree

    darktree Guest

    I have a Bus-Link 16 Speed DVD-ROM drive, but when using SmartRipper, the highest ripping speed it indicated was 5.5x. Is this correct, or should it be around 16x? Someone please shed some light. Thanx. crazydv8er@enter.net
     
  2. TheFlyer

    TheFlyer Guest

    Hi.

    I have also 16X dvd-drive.
    When i use SmartRipper the ripping speed is
    between 5-8X.
    I have find out that when i was using FAT32 file-system the speed was higher but now when i´m using NTFS (Windows XP)the speed is a little slower.
    Also check that you DMA is enabled (turned on) in control panel/system/hardware/devices/primary IDE channel and secondary IDE channel.

    Peter.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 27, 2002
  3. dRD

    dRD I hate titles Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    8,650
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    143
    5-8x is about the max what you can get for many reasons, the 16x is normally not the "real read speed", but "peak speed". Also, your CPU has to go through the stuff you're ripping in order to decrypt the CSS, which effects the ripping speed further.

    But anyway, 6 years ago it took 14-20 hours to rip one audio CD to MP3 format, so... :)
     
  4. voltaire

    voltaire Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi
    Same problem here. I have an 8X DVDROM and I am running a WindowsXP Pro on NTFS. The maximum speed i have seen in 1.4X. This is too low and i hope someone can help me out with the reason.

     
  5. voltaire

    voltaire Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    okay can someone answer my question please?

     
  6. dRD

    dRD I hate titles Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    8,650
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Replied more than once, try to use the search, PLEEZ. Turn DMA on for your HDD and DVD-ROM, defrag your HDD.
     
  7. voltaire

    voltaire Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    funny how you cant enable Ultra DMA on your laptop until its formatted. Thats what i had to go through to enable it.
    thanks for the advice.
    thanks to the HP recovery Image CDs.

     

Share This Page