1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ripping speed issues

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by docgspot, Aug 5, 2003.

1. docgspot

docgspot Member

Hello all.

Ive read through a lot of the posts on this site relating to the above issue. several have came close to answering the issues. my pioneer writer used to rip dvd's at 6-12 speed. now im lucky to get 2.5. the only change ive made!!!! upgrading the whole system i had before. Now im a computer technician. ive done all the bios updates checked the dma etc etc and i cannot resolved the issue. One member mentioned that their are locks put onto drives to stop the ripping speed being higher then this now. however it was running fine before the upgrade. the system has gone from a athlon 350 to a 2800, wiv sata etc and a fast graphics card. so i just cant understand whats happened. has anyone got any ideas.

Thanks,

Glenn

2. ken0042

ken0042 Regular member

Now, when you say you've checked the DMA settings, does that mean it's on? If so, have you tried putting it back into PIO mode?

For some unknown reason sometimes DMA ends up working faster, sometimes PIO works better.

3. docgspot

docgspot Member

yeah dma is set on. ive tried several combinations of drive placings too. ide 0 and 1 master and slave none of it seems to make any difference. ive yet to call asus about the board itself. Ill give pio a chance its the only thing i havent tried. i thought they may have put something in the pioneers 105's bios to slow it down. as i read that the manafactures had capped them. its just very strange that on my older much slower machine it was so much faster. Any other ideas would be appreciated. i guess i should be used to these sort of unusual issues after 13 years in the technical trade. but its another new one on me.

Just rebooted and tried pio, only got 1.5x annoyin to say the least. im grassping at straws here._X_X_X_X_X_[small]Doc[/small]