1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ripping with SH-D162C and patching with abgx360

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by TurboJailer, Feb 9, 2012.

  1. TurboJailer

    TurboJailer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok, Ive read so many threads my brain hurts. Ive read and followed the tutorials to the letter and no luck there. Ive used the search bar and havent come up with anything to help so thats why Im posting. I just want to know how many people have had luck ripping games with a Kreon modded Samsung drive and patching them with abgx360? I know everyone says use a 0800 drive but others have had success and Id like to get this combo working if I can.

    Ive tried patching my xdg3 rips and they check out fine in abgx360 v1.0.6 and burn fine with my burner max modded liteon burner but they wont play in my console. They just keep going to a black screen and then dropping back to the dash. Im using 001 Verbatim media and burning at 4x. My last scan with kprobe had a max pi 22 avg 1.22 and a max pif 2 avg .04.

    I just had a buddy offer up a dead 360 to use the drive out of but Id like to be able to use my SH-D162C and patch the images if I can.
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,268
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    48
    You have either misread others replies or you've been bullshitted too,"YOU CANNOT RIP XGD3 WITH KREON",you now need to get hold of an 0800 if you wish to continue ripping the later games,yep it's more money being out layed however i had to do the same now you will have to,my sig has the tuts you require in elitemods forum,don't waste anymore time asking for the impossible the kreon can only rip older games that is it in a nutshell,to burn the xgd3 games you will require the latest version of imgburn & verbatim discs,again read the tuts carefully
  4. TurboJailer

    TurboJailer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Gotcha. Even patching them with agbx360 is a no go then? I have been mis informed.
  5. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,268
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    48
    0800 required for xgd game ripping,kreon is now redundent
  6. BillB

    BillB Regular member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2003
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Make sure to patch them with abgx! The topology data might be updated. If the Xbox that is being given to you has a benq or liteon, you could flash that drive with 0800 v3. All you need is a way to power the drive while it is hooked up to your computer and you're good to go.
  7. TurboJailer

    TurboJailer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well the drive I was given is a Samsung MS28 unmodded. Got the whole xbox actually. Will this drive flashed with 0800 work for ripping or do I need to get a Liteon or BenQ?

    Sorry for the stupid questions, my brain hurts from all the reading I've been doing trying to find this information out. Trust me I've tried to find these answers on my own, here and elsewhere, before I posted.

    ETA: If the Samsung won't work for ripping what drive would be better to get for ripping, Liteon or BenQ?
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2012
  8. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,268
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    48
  9. TurboJailer

    TurboJailer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    JF will cover my flashing needs, I was just wondering if the Samsung flashed with 0800 will work for ripping xgd3 games.
  10. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,268
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    48
  11. eebeejay

    eebeejay Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,764
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    No. 0800v3 is only for BenQs & Lite-Ons.
  12. TurboJailer

    TurboJailer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    scorpNZ, thanks for the links. My Google fu is weak.

    I've got a BenQ coming from fleebay so I should be set now. Thanks to all for putting up with all my stupid questions. As you can probably tell I've been out of the loop for a while.
  13. TurboJailer

    TurboJailer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well, I spoke too soon. Followed all the tutorials to the letter. Flashed my BenQ drive with the LT-3.0 0800 firmware. Patch with abgx360 and burn with Liteon iHAS124B burner with burner max firmware. Kprobe scans look great on Verbatim 001 disks but the game will not play. It just drops back to the dashboard. Tried some 003 disks with the same result.

    I'm lost.
  14. TurboJailer

    TurboJailer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well, I finally got it sorted. I'm almost too embarrassed to even post what was going on.

    Lets just say it helps to flash your drive with the right firmware.......


    It's all good now, thanks for tolerating my stupidity.

Share This Page