1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ritek G04, not so hot?

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by jackl1495, Dec 1, 2004.

1. jackl1495

jackl1495 Member

I've been using Princo discs to back up my ps2 games, they work well, but not flawlessly. I heard a lot of good stuff about Ritek G04

bought some, burnt it, and it performs pretty badly so far. (GTA SAN ANDREAS)

anyone else dissapointed by Ritek? anyone prefer somethign else?

2. sly_61019

sly_61019 Senior member

i have no problems with ritek. im surprised you ps2 even reads princo (mine doesn't).

3. nrk4594

nrk4594 Regular member

TDK 2x DVD-r burned at 1x is what I recommend. It is a little pricy compared to others. You can get a 100 pack for around $90, if you look good enough. Meritline sells the 100 pack for $304, they are a rip off, avoid them.

4. Cachorrao

Cachorrao Member

I've been using Ritek's for a couple years with no problems until recently. It seems that the quality of the G04's has gone down. I have to load each game like 10x's before it finaly laods. Then it freezes up etc... It seems like they don't make the true branded disks anymore, just the hub branded ones and they aren't true 4x didks. THey are only 4x with Data burning. Even though when I burn PS2 games I always burn at 1x it's still annoying to only be able to burn movies at 2x.

5. jackl1495

jackl1495 Member

appreciate your input guys.

shame to hear a decline in Ritek, i bought a 25 pack, thinking it could give me pristine copies for my games.

TDK is the new standard? anyone agree with that?

6. catfreak

catfreak Active member

... I think that Maxell is the new standard ...

.. However .. Any brand carrying the ID of RICHOJPN is very good media (of course this only applies to +R) ..

7. Jaison

Jaison Guest

i use Ritek to backup my dvd movies 100% ok. princo will stop at 60ms

8. ceno82

ceno82 Member