1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RJTech 1500DVXII Questions And Comments

Discussion in 'DVD players' started by dewytakm, Mar 7, 2005.

1. dewytakm

dewytakm Member

I have been using the RJTECH 1500DVXII for several months and have one question and several comments:

Does this player use the ESS chipset referred to in the AutoGK tutorial at: http://www.autogk.me.uk/modules.php?name=Tutorial ?

I ask because I have some Vidx files that playback with video tearing and I need to know if I should switch to the ESS support in AutoGK.

Comments:

Unit was delivered with incorrect firmware. I had to download the new firmware and upgrade the unit before it would play anything other than standard commercial DVD's. It would not even play audio CD's. The manufacturer said this was a unique problem; even so, it clearly demonstrates that they, like everyone else in the world, use the consumer for final product testing.

Unit responds (badly) to my Hitachi TV remote control. If I leave the power on to the RJTECH and fiddle with various selections on the TV (I don't know the specific sequence) the RJTECH gets reprogrammed to PAL mode. Fortunately, I have memorized the sequence to reset the player back to defaults, but the first time around was a real pain - I finally ended up connecting a computer screen just so I could read the menues.

Unit will not play an XVID file larger than 2 GB if recorded on a TDK DVD+R 4X 4.7 GB disc. However, the same file plays fine if recorded on a DVD-RW 2X (generic, no longer have the packaging so I can't tell you the brand.

As mentioned before, some XVID files will not play properly - video tearing. Others work fine. I don't know what differences there are between the various files, but will continue checking.

I recently made an XVID / AC3 format file and it worked great!!! Full surround sound and excellent video (almost as good as original DVD).