1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rogue Galaxy, backing up with apache 3

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by Cloud637, Apr 6, 2007.

  1. Cloud637

    Cloud637 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have the original disk and have been trying to back rogue galaxy. I've researching and found these intructions:

    1. Rip game to harddrive. Make sure all 6 GB are ripped.
    2. Use apache 3 to extract.
    --Extract Layer0 to the RIP folder
    --Extract Layer1 to the RIP folder
    3. Made sure NO other programs are running, disconnect internet (for safety), freed up to 15GB of free Hard drive space, and had more than enough RAM (512 MIN).
    4. Run bat file.
    5. When the DVD IML2ISO appears, open up the file "rouge.iml".
    6. Click Start.
    7. When done, burn the game. (make sure the final image is about 4.3GB)

    I used dvd decrypter to save the disk to the computer. Now I am stuck with apache 3. When I try to extract one layer, it gives me the whole 6 gigs. The instructions says "ripped folder"? So I just extract to a new folder right? Lastly, where is the bat while?
    Sorry for the trouble. I am new to apache.
     
  2. Cloud637

    Cloud637 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Do I Have to Convert to DVD5 first? if so, how do I do it? I've been trying for 3 hours already on backing up rogue galaxy.
     
  3. ovrfiendx

    ovrfiendx Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Here use this.

    Single DVD5 ripkit, made by psychospacefish

    http://rapidshare.com/files/18147909/RG1DVD5.rar

    Apache 3 extracts both layers (all 6 gig) at once for you. No need to switch layers anymore.

    The download contains a folder labeled rip extract to your hdd first. Then this is were you want to extract your image files to.
    The .bat file is in this same folder.

    The whole point of this rip kit is to make a dvd5. So how can you make a dvd5 first then use this? Unless you have another rip kit. Then what's the sense of your thread?

    Just for your info: DVD9 holds about 7.95 gig of info and a DVD5 holds about 4.3 gig. An original Rogue Galaxy disk is a DVD9. That is why we have to down size it to fit on a DVD5. This is done so people using Swap Magic and CogSwap can boot the backup. ModChip users can use a DVD9 backup.

    Hope this helps.
     
  4. Cloud637

    Cloud637 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok so heres what i did. 1) I backed up rogue galaxy to my hd using dvd decrypter. 2)Exract the "RIP" folder from RG1DVD5 (downloaded from the link above) 3) Used apache 3 and opened the backed up rogue galaxy and extract it to the "RIP" folder. 4) ran .bat and then gdvd4-iml2iso came up and i clicked "start" and it gave me this "Code 2011 - Error Opening C:\VIDEO_TS\RIP\TEST.IML" 5) i ran gdvd4-iml2iso again and this time i opened the only file in the "RIP" folder that has .IML 6) image was rebuilt

    I'm going to burn the image using DVD Decrpyter and see if it works. But I thought i read somewhere that you had to back up rogue galaxy and split the image onto 2 DVDs? Also, while playing up to chapter 7 you switch disks?

    Well I only have 1 image file to burn onto a SINGLE DVD disk.

    Did I do something wrong?
     
  5. ovrfiendx

    ovrfiendx Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    In the readme.txt that is in the rip folder also it says to open rogue.iml. As long as this is the iml you used it should be fine. But really I don't think any other iml file would work anyway. I say burn it and enjoy.

    Also the reason it's able to fit to single DVD5 is because this rips the staff credits out. Reducing overall size. If you want to watch them their on youtube. Sorry no links.
     
  6. Cloud637

    Cloud637 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    YES IT WORKS!!! and i remember that i did opened the rogue.iml. i found the link to the ending credits if anybody wants to watch : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4xm6PSZlZg0

    Thanks alot to all that helped!!!!!!!!!!
     
  7. ODIUM

    ODIUM Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello all. Is there another link to the RG1DVD5.rar file? For some reason I can't get downloads from that place. Or if you could email it to me that would be fine too. It would be appreciated.
     
  8. orthogonl

    orthogonl Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  9. ODIUM

    ODIUM Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sry, all I got was a page with a bunch of ads on that link. Anything else? lol
     
  10. orthogonl

    orthogonl Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    odd, I guess direct linking isn't allowed there...

    go to http://orthogonl.byethost9.com/ and check the ripkits folder, right-click and save as to download
     

Share This Page