1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Router/Computer Problem

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by PearlMilk, Jan 20, 2007.

  1. PearlMilk

    PearlMilk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello,

    Today i just purchased a Router from "Target" and it seems to have some problems (maby not the router.. don't have too much experience)

    I pluged the router to the modem and the computer just as it told me too..

    In "Network Connections" I have 2 connections Local Area Connection 3 (Connected "Motorola SURFBoard 4200) and Local Area Connection (SiS 900-Based PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter) I dunno why it says "SiS 900-Based PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter" even tho my router is a D-Link DL-524.
    For some reason i can't connect to the internet.. but i can go to the administration tools in the http://192.168.0.1.
    IF i disable "Local Area Connection" my internet starts working again..


    around 1 hour ago when i had them bothed enabled the internet was working but "Local Area Connection" was stuck on getting the ip address or something. Then i created a new connection and it works but no internet :S

    Can any 1 help me with my problem? Sorry if i don't make sense
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,073
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    the motorola modem, is it connected via usb to the computer or by network cable?
     
  3. PearlMilk

    PearlMilk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    my motorola modem is connected to the computer via USB AND connect to the router via ethernet.. am i able to ONLY connect to the computer with router?
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,073
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    the router has to be connected between the modem & computer to use the router. signal goes into the modem than thru a network cable to router's wan port. another network cable comes out of 1 of the other 4 lan ports in the router to your pc lan card. is that how you have it set up as doesn't sound like you do?
     
  5. PearlMilk

    PearlMilk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok this is wat ive setup
    (Via ethernet)
    Internet-------Cable modem--------router
    | ---------/
    |USB / ethernet
    | /
    Computer/
    Is this right? sorry if u can't read it
     
  6. PearlMilk

    PearlMilk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Oh sorry.. u cant see it

    My modem is connected to the router via ethernet(slot where it says WAN) and the modem is also connected to the computer aswell via USB.

    The router is connected to the computer via ethernet.

    On the router. The status is
    Power=Light on
    status= blinking
    WAN= blinking
    WLAN=Light on
    1= light on
     
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,073
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    goes from modem to router(via net cable) to computer(via net cable). what else is connected to the router to explain why you are using it?
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2007
  8. nasayin

    nasayin Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    @PearlMilk,

    If you want to use the router, you can only use the ethernet option. Connect the ethernet wire from the modem to the router (WAN). Then use any of the 4 slots on your router to connect to your computer. You cannot use the USB feature on the modem to work with the router
     

Share This Page