1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Safedisc 3.20 backups a success

Discussion in 'CD-R' started by Shoey, Aug 12, 2004.

  1. Shoey

    Shoey Guest

    Safedisc 3.20.022 conquered.
    Listed below are dvd-roms and cd burners that are confirmed to make working backups of Safedisc 3.20.022
    ======================================================
    Readers:
    1) Lite-ON LTD 163
    2) Lite-ON LTD 165
    3) Lite-ON LTD 166
    ======================================================
    Burners:
    1) Plex Premium (523252x)
    2) Lite-ON 523252x, 522452x, 48x
    3) ASUS CRW-5232AS
    ======================================================
    Programs used:
    1) Paddus DiscJuggler
    2) Alcohol 120%
    3) CloneCDFireBurner
    4) Blindwrite 4.57
    ===============================================
    Games tested
    1) Far Cry
    2) True Crime: Streets Of L.A
    3) Splinter Cell: Pandora Tomorrow
    ===============================================
    Comments
    1) Play backups of Safedisc 3.2 in a cd\dvd-rom, not a burner!
    2) The Plex Premium (52\32\52x) is the "elite" burner simply because this burner supports VariRec write technology, a write feature specifically designed to backup SecuROM cd protection. Although the Plex Premium is more expensive than the Lite-ON or Asus burners, you get more for the dollar with a purchase of a Plex Premium. :)
    _
    _
    _
    _
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]MSI KT6V-LSR MS-7021
    AMD Athlon XP 2500+ (OC'd to 3400+)
    1 Gig Corsair XMS PC3200 (OC'd DDR500)
    MSI MS Starforce nVidia GeForce FX5500(256 DDR)
    Maxtor ATA\133 200 gig
    Lite-ON LTD165H DVD-ROM
    Lite-ON LDW411S DVD-Burner[/small]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 12, 2004
  2. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Great information, Shoey!

    Would you mind giving me the skinny on the settings for BW5 and SafeDisc 3.2.022? My BW5/Plex Premium copies of Doom3 haven't worked yet whereas the copies made with A120/Plex Premium work fine in my 166S.

    Thanks again chief :)
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]
    JMLS-166S/Plextor PX-708A/Plextor Premium

    My Movies! http://www.intervocative.com/dvdcollection.aspx/Rephaim

    Got Indie? http://cdbaby.com/[/small]
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2004
  3. Shoey

    Shoey Guest

    Neph,
    I posted Blindwrite 5 (my bad) as it was supposed to be BlindWrite Suite 4.57. Use your Plex Premium as reader&write
    Read settings:
    1) Authorize the use of alternative method
    2) Choose nibble and read at 8x
    ======================================================
    Write settings
    1) NO AWS, NO autoplay enabled, burn DAO pw at 4x
    _
    _
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]MSI KT6V-LSR MS-7021
    AMD Athlon XP 2500+ (OC'd to 3400+)
    1 Gig Corsair XMS PC3200 (OC'd DDR500)
    MSI MS Starforce nVidia GeForce FX5500(256 DDR)
    Maxtor ATA\133 200 gig
    Lite-ON LTD165H DVD-ROM
    Lite-ON LDW411S DVD-Burner[/small]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 12, 2004
  4. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I'll expand a bit more.

    Far Cry (SD 3.15) and Painkiller (SD 3.2) were no problem for BW5/PlexPremium/Plex 708A. The copies played fine in all three of my drives. Great success for the Premium and 708A.

    Doom 3 (SD 3.2.022) is another story.

    For BW5 I used my usual settings for SafeDisc/PlexPremium via BW5 Tweaker. Here's the log:

    8/4/2004 4:53:43 PM info ******************** Report session closed *********************
    8/4/2004 4:50:25 PM info Write completed in 15:03
    8/4/2004 4:50:06 PM info Finalize started
    8/4/2004 4:35:22 PM info Write started
    8/4/2004 4:35:22 PM info Buffer Under-run protection is enabled
    8/4/2004 4:35:22 PM info Backup tagged for Autoplay
    8/4/2004 4:35:22 PM info DAO PW writing mode selected
    8/4/2004 4:35:22 PM info Writing speed requested x4, effective x4
    8/4/2004 4:35:21 PM info DAO writing mode preferred
    8/4/2004 4:35:21 PM info Writing CD-ROM Disc [DOOM3_1] - Image Size 576 Mb.
    8/4/2004 4:35:21 PM info Writing device : 2:0:0 - PLEXTOR CD-R PREMIUM 1.05 [E] (Ide)
    8/4/2004 4:35:21 PM info Media topology isn't required
    8/4/2004 4:35:21 PM info Extraction successful in 03:28
    8/4/2004 4:35:21 PM info 583 sectors fixed between LBA 000994 and 010301
    8/4/2004 4:32:07 PM info Free Space on destination path 88.2 Gb.
    8/4/2004 4:32:07 PM info Reading CD-ROM Disc [DOOM3_1] - Image Size 576 Mb.
    8/4/2004 4:32:07 PM info Read data with subcodes PW for track 1 and following
    8/4/2004 4:31:53 PM info Reading device : 2:1:0 - JLMS XJ-HD166S DS1C [F] (Ide)
    8/4/2004 4:31:53 PM info Extraction started
    8/4/2004 4:30:41 PM info Loaded copy profile Automatic
    8/4/2004 4:30:41 PM info Launched with external parameters
    8/4/2004 4:30:41 PM info Using Patin-Couffin driver Version 1.22, Internal revision 22
    8/4/2004 4:30:41 PM info ParamStr 2 = "C:\WINDOWS\bw5.ini"
    8/4/2004 4:30:41 PM info ParamStr 1 = "/ini"
    8/4/2004 4:30:41 PM info ParamStr 0 = "C:\Program Files\VSO\BlindWrite5\bw.exe"
    8/4/2004 4:30:41 PM info User default language : 1033 (0x0409h) - English (United States)
    8/4/2004 4:30:41 PM info System default language : 1033 (0x0409h) - English (United States)
    8/4/2004 4:30:41 PM info Version 5.1.10.136
    8/4/2004 4:30:40 PM info Title : BlindWrite 5.1.10.136
    8/4/2004 4:30:40 PM info ExeName : "C:\Program Files\VSO\BlindWrite5\bw.exe"
    8/4/2004 4:30:40 PM info OS : Microsoft Windows XP Professional Service Pack 1 (Build 2600)
    8/4/2004 4:30:40 PM info ******************** Report session started ********************

    The copy was a no go. Any suggestions? These are the same settings I used for SD 3.15/3.2.

    On a brighter note the A120/PlexPremium combo worked wonderfully with the default SafeDisc 2/3 settings except for changing the write speed to 4X. The copy plays fine in my 166S.

    All images were extracted with my Lite On 166S.
     
  5. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2004
  6. 2005

    2005 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    make sure you are makeing the immages from the plex premium like he suggested... and slow the read and write speeds way down
     
  7. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Well my attempts at using BW 4.57 haven't panned out yet :(

    Reading/writing was done with my PlexPremium.

    For the read I authorized the use of alternative method, chose nibble and read at 8X.

    For the write I burned DAO pw at 4X but could not find settings for No AWS or No Autoplay, did I miss something Shoey?
     
  8. Shoey

    Shoey Guest

    Open BlindWrite>go to general settings>there you see options to enable autoplay and EWS :)Disable both, use Plex Premium read& burn at 4x. If backup fails then try your Litey LTD 166 as reader m8. Alcohol 120%, CloneCD or any "emulation"(Daemon Tools) software installed? If so uninstall>reboot.
    _
    _
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]MSI KT6V-LSR MS-7021
    AMD Athlon XP 2500+ (OC'd to 3200+)
    1 Gig Corsair XMS PC3200 (OC'd DDR500)
    MSI MS Starforce nVidia GeForce FX5500(256 DDR)
    Maxtor ATA\133 200 gig
    Lite-ON LTD165H DVD-ROM
    Lite-ON LDW411S DVD-Burner[/small]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 23, 2004
  9. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Thanks chief. I feel like a dork for missing those :p I'll give it another shot :)
     
  10. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I've got A120 and Daemon installed but none of the emulation options active when testing the copies.

    Would it make a difference hving them installed but not running considering my previous copy with A120 worked?
     
  11. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Success. As always, you are my mentor Shoey :)

    It seems this copy verifies a bit quicker than the one I made with A120. Interesting.
     
  12. Shoey

    Shoey Guest

    Congrats Neph, er, I mean the Plex Premium? (hehe). Anyways, I personally would uninstall Alcohol 120% and any other "emulation" software and test your backup again to be 100% sure :) No need for "red beer" now (yipee) as I'm not a big fan of Alcohol 120%, never was...

     
  13. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I've got access to a PC that's never had any sort of burning or emulation software on it so I'll give it a shot on that one as well :)
     
  14. DynatyxXx

    DynatyxXx Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    HI!I read everything but i don´t get it.I really need help and very fast.I wanna bakup doom 3 too what do i need and how to use step by step from the beginnig.Please be patient and tell me.Thank you.Need the answer in less than 5h.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2004
  15. Shoey

    Shoey Guest

    Be patient yet respond within 5 hours? (hehe). If you don't the following cd burners, don't bother tryin to make a working backup.

    1) Plex Premium (52\32\52x)
    2) Lite-ON 52\32\52x
    3) Asus 52\32\52x

    Most people have reported success with the Plextor Premium :)
     
  16. DynatyxXx

    DynatyxXx Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Dunno what i have.And wanna open my pc.How do i find out?
    i have 2 drives a white one and a black one,that is the burner.Oh,by the way.Doom 3 has a safedisc 2 protection.I make a iso with alcohol120% with option safedisc 2/3 selected and i get disk reading problem in the small progress box but it continues creating the iso.well......What do i do?
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2004
  17. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Every drive in existence is either white or black. Use Nero Info Tool to ID your drive.

    http://www.afterdawn.com/software/cdr_software/cdr_tools/nero_info_tool.cfm


    Doom 3 is SafeDisc 3.2.022. You can use A-Ray Scanner to confirm this.

    http://www.aray-software.com/


    This is part of how SafeDisc works, is quite normal, occurs at the beginning of the disc and will eventually stop so just let it do it's thing :)

     
  18. DynatyxXx

    DynatyxXx Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hey pal.Thanks for the help.I apreciate it,but i have even a bigger problem:I dunno what i have,but it worked.I can play need for speed 5.But with doom there is a problem:it sais detected cd emulation software,please disable it and restart doom3.Now what.
     
  19. Shoey

    Shoey Guest

    Well uninstall any software that runs "emulation" such as Alcohol 120%, CloneCD or Daemon Tools>reboot and play the backup of Doom 3 in your dvd or cd-rom, not your burner.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]MSI KT6V-LSR MS-7021
    AMD Athlon XP 2500+ (OC'd to 3200+)
    1 Gig Corsair XMS PC3200 (OC'd DDR 400)
    MSI MS Starforce nVidia GeForce FX5500(256 DDR)
    Maxtor ATA\133 200 gig
    Lite-ON LTD165H DVD-ROM
    Lite-ON LDW411S DVD-Burner[/small]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 25, 2004
  20. DynatyxXx

    DynatyxXx Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I don´t get it
    You mean i should burn the image on a disc and then play it from my drive?
    I don´t wanna play from the original game!I want it backedup.on my hdd.the game was rent.Answer me fast
     

Share This Page