1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SATA 250GB Seagate HDD not detecting

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by aj174, Jun 14, 2007.

  1. aj174

    aj174 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I gave it to my friend to test it out, and it worked on his pc, meaning the actual harddrive is not the problem. I tried different cables, still nothing. So i'm thinking its my SATA slots on the mobo thats not working. Anything i can do?
     
  2. Spenman91

    Spenman91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You may need to format it with your computer. Mine wouldn't detect but worked fine after I used to installation CD.
     
  3. aj174

    aj174 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I can't format it because it wont be detected.
     
  4. jojonavy

    jojonavy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  5. aj174

    aj174 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What if i get a PCI E sata card?
     
  6. AXT

    AXT Guest

    you need to partition your drive.

    try this:

    im using vista so bear with me...

    go to control panel and find "administrative tools" if not then enable it in the start menu. Click on "computer management" afterwards click on "storage" then "disk management".

    Right click on the new hard drive and partition it or format it to your liking.
     
  7. aj174

    aj174 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well I can't partition my drive because windows doesn't detect it, that's the problem. It doesn't detect at bios either.
     
  8. johnnyd54

    johnnyd54 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It won't detect til you do whar axt said.
     
  9. aj174

    aj174 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What exactly do you mean by new harddrive. I'm on a 20 gb now, but my 250 gb isnt detected at all.
     
  10. ha9981

    ha9981 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    wth! was that for post counts? WTH would he want to make it external!!!

    buy a new mobo? what kind of troubleshooting is that? first make sure its his mobo!he might as well buy a new pc.

    i thinking a pci sata card might work!
     
  11. jojonavy

    jojonavy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
     
  12. LDee

    LDee Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    lol, he can't format the drive in windows, it's not recognized.

    Have you tried installing the sata drivers from the mboards driver cd? Usually you can boot to the driver cd that came with your mboard then make a sata driver floppy, then boot to that.

    Or download the sata driver floppy from the manufacturers website and make the floppy that way.
     
  13. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,075
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    some people are not realizing that if bios does not see the drive then you can't do squat with it no matter what til bios sees that drive.

    aj174, i presume that 20gig is ide as i don't think they made sata 20gig's? is your motherboard sata controller enabled in the bios as i believe it is disabled right now therefore can't see the drive?
     
  14. ha9981

    ha9981 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yup his 20gb is ide but im pretty sure he doesn't have sata disabled cuz his sata randomly stopped working. so i doubt its driver. but it could be! ill ask him to check. he did remove the battery in the mobo that would reset to enable sata as a default, im guessing...

    p.s im his friend thats how i know...
     
  15. aj174

    aj174 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok so the computer detects my harddrive under windows, but only when i use the sata card. I can't boot from that harddrive because it wont detect on bios. Now I'm not sure what to do in order to make this harddrive boot windows, any suggestions?
     
  16. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,075
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    did you get any software with that controller card?
     
  17. LDee

    LDee Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Are you sure you can't even see the drive listed anywhere in the bios? It won't show up in the drives section yet probably but it should show elsewhere in the bios.

    When you say you can see it now in windows "only when using the sata card", you mean with a pci card that adds sata slots to your pc?

    I've read through the thread elsewhere and can't see anywhere that you've installed the sata drivers, maybe a silly question but have you? Are you trying to install windows on the thing and you're getting to the point when windows says "no hard disk has been detected on your system, setup will now terminate", ?

    Also, if it's a sata2 hard drive in a board that only takes sata1 drives you would need to plug a jumper into the relevant pins on the hard drive to make it operate at 150mb (sata1). Mentioning this just in case it helps.
     
  18. aj174

    aj174 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Nope can't see it in bios at all.

    Yea with a pci card that adds sata slots

    I've installed the drivers, and i think there is an OS installed on it already, i can access the files on the harddrive through the 20 gig though.
     
  19. ha9981

    ha9981 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    lamjot try other bios setting like on my pc to when i set the boot priorities it can detect my usb jumpdrive there. so while ur sata hd is plugged in go to boot priority and try to see if it lets you set it as the first one.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2007

Share This Page