1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

schtrom v3.1 backup question.

Discussion in 'Xbox - Backup discussion' started by saltzy, May 21, 2007.

1. saltzy

saltzy Member

Hello,

I am new at all of this. I recently just purchased a pre-modified xbox 360 console from modchipstore.com. This modified console comes with the globe 360 modchip already installed. I currently have downloaded schtrom v3.1 and clone dvd and am ready to make a back-up. The problem I have, is that when I load my game into my computer drive and start up schtrom v 3.1 it says that there is no xbox 360 drive found! Do I need to connect my xbox 360 to my pc? what do I need to do? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. steimy

steimy Active member

Unless you bought the special Samsung PC DVD-Rom drive your PC (SH-D162C with Kreon Firmware) is not going to read an Xbox 360 game disc. Go to the Xbox 360 section and i am sure you can find some guides on other ways to back up games. The Samsung SH-D162C can be purchased on Ebay for about $50 and is by far the easiest way to back up games from original discs.

3. saltzy

saltzy Member

Great! Thanks for the info

Would there be any way to get that samsung drive as an external drive? Just curious.
    If I didn't want to go the route of making backups from the original disc and wanted to pursue the method of downloading the game files to put on the disc, what in your opinion is the best and easiest method with my modded 360?

4. steimy

steimy Active member

well, either way works about the same really. Making a back up from an original is faster for sure with the Samsung drive. I have seen an SATA and IDE (internal) version but not an external. You would want to go internal if you can. If you have an open slot it is about a 5 minute job to hook it up.

here are some pro's and con's of your back up question.

Copy With Samsing Drive:
    PROS
    quick and easy