1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

scrambled channel

Discussion in 'Digital TV - UK & Europe' started by ger123, Feb 19, 2008.

  1. ger123

    ger123 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    when watching any channel the channel cuts off and reads scrambled or bad channel but comes back on after about a minute or two any ideas for a solution thnx
     
  2. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    If you have a Starvi*w , press menu > system information and tell us what the API is please
     
  3. ger123

    ger123 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    the api ver is 3.00e E boot ver;7.0 27 may.2007
     
  4. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Ok you will have to update the firmware on your b0x as ver 3.00 is not very stable

    You will need to know if you have a clone or genuine

    Count the vents on top

    18x7 = Clone
    25x7 = Genuine
    13x7 = 1st Generation

    Also looking from the front
    Scart to the left = Clone
    Scart to the right = Genuine

    Also you can go here to see some pics
    http://www.freewebs.com/dooby2oon
     
  5. ger123

    ger123 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    seems as if its a clone as the scarts are to yhe left
     
  6. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    You will need a null modem cable DB9F to DB9F.

    Null Modem Cable

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Search.aspx?criteria=L71BT&DOY=2m6

    If your pc does not have a serial port you will need a USB to serial port adapter to use in conjunction with the null modem cable.

    USB Adapter

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx...t10&doy=search&MenuName=USB to Serial Adaptor

    These two cable links are only for reference as they can be purchased alot cheaper on fleabay.

    All firmware/loader can be found in the link at the end of my post marked Eamos Library.

    You will need the GTromloader, (Starvi*w Software Uploader), found in the Starvi*w software folder of the link.

    You will need version 2.57_FIXED firmware for CLONES found in "Starvi*w" firmware folder.
     
  7. ger123

    ger123 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thnx celtic71 had to order cable so will keep u posted once cable arrives
     
  8. MICKAH

    MICKAH Active member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,764
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Sorry to cut in, but V3 software wasnt used on clones, was it? the only ones that work on clones was up to 2.57.....???
     
  9. ger123

    ger123 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i think that u could be right as i have had my starview box for about a year and a half and the last time i flashed it it wasnt a clone code it is poss. first gen. box
     
  10. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Possibly but 2.57eE fixed will still do the job.
     
  11. ger123

    ger123 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thnx scouser i will try it when the cable arrives i just didnt want to use the wrong flash
     
  12. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    No problem, youre quite welcome to flash with version 4 if you like, but better to play it safe with 2.57 fixed.
     
  13. ger123

    ger123 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    im back with cable plugged in but dont have a clue what to do next will someone please tell me thnx
     

Share This Page