1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SD dvddump vista problem.

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by Puckman, Jun 11, 2007.

  1. Puckman

    Puckman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a PAL Wii Modded with the WiiKey.

    I just bought this SD Gecko off ebay (here):

    http://stores.ebay.com/Wii-Buy

    [​IMG]

    And I get this error message:

    [​IMG]

    Any help??
     
  2. mr2mas

    mr2mas Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    You can't use the SD Gecko card as a gamecube memory card. It's only intended to be used for homebrew gamecube apps.
     
  3. Puckman

    Puckman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Anyone know if it will work for DVD Dumping using the wiikey?? Do I need to format it in a special way??
     
  4. mr2mas

    mr2mas Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah, you can use it for DVD Dumping. Just remember it will only see up to a 2gb sd card and becareful of the brand sd card you use. I've experienced that a "patriot" sd card won't work, but a "kingston" reads just fine.

    Now for the formatting, if you look at the dvddump folder when you downloaded your wiikey setup, the readme file will tell you how to format and dump the sd card.
     
  5. Puckman

    Puckman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for clearing that up.. The only problem now is that I'm running windows vista and dvddump isn't compatible with it. so looks like I'll have to wait for an update.

    Unless anyone knows how to make it compatible???
     
  6. ehartung

    ehartung Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Works fine with my Patriot card. Just to let you know.
     
  7. Thinone

    Thinone Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    u could install virtualpc and load up xp and use it that way?

    might work - lot of work for it i guess
     
  8. ehartung

    ehartung Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Actually the last time I ran Virtual PC, it didn't recognize the SD slot, so it wouln't work

    I am however installing VMWARE and I will let you know how that turns out.
     
  9. ehartung

    ehartung Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    VMWARE does recognize the SD reader fine, and I have full access to the card.

    Innitially I didn't get any error messages using the DUMPTOOL, however while is formatting the disk (it does recognize size and everything) the dumtool gives errors and a ballon said that the hardware failed. I thikn this is a VMWARE issue.

    So still, no luck runing Dumptool under VISTA without having dual-boot... unless someone think of something else.
     

Share This Page