1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Securing computer when using IRC xDCC botZ

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by gotisos, Jan 28, 2004.

  1. gotisos

    gotisos Guest

    Hey How's it going everybody?

    Anyways, I have been screwing with IRc for the past few months, since the RIAA and their law suits. My problem is everytime I enable my firewall I can't recieve files, yes I know it is not supposed to work with firewalls, but I would like to have a secure connection to the internet, and be able to use irc XDCC BOTS at the same time. I have been hearing about these trojans that can use your open ports to make your box into a SPAMBOX, and I hate spam, and don't want my resources, or security comprimized. I am willing to play with the idea of linux or unix or something if that would be better, I am somewhat familiar with them. Anything would be great, google just isn't doing it for me, so it is time to use the best forum on the internet. At this time I am using winxp pro sp1 oh yeah!!!

    PS... has anyone had a chance to get there hands on xp service pack 2, I saw it, but I am scared, especially when my connection tries to access MS servers TX
     
  2. gotisos

    gotisos Guest

    come on darthnip, I know you must has some type of encite on this one'

    tx
     
  3. darthnip

    darthnip Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    what firewall are you running? are you also behind a router? you need to allow communication in and out for your IRC script.
     
  4. nik99

    nik99 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yo darth...im back home

    congrats on ur becoming a mod..
    sorry if it was long back..jsut saw it today
     
  5. darthnip

    darthnip Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    heya nik, glad to see you made it home. we have moved to the addictz network now (irc.addictz.net) same channel and stuff, come and visit. :)
     
  6. nik99

    nik99 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yep..i know.Praetor and dela told me.
    .came in twice ..didnt see any of our regulars there..

    hmmmm...funny the mouse cursor doesnt work on this new site..so i cant slect ..edit....copy etc..
    u knwo wat thats about
     
  7. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    LOL nvr heard of anything like that before :p
    Pssst Nik, update ur sig :)
     
  8. darthnip

    darthnip Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    hey nik, do us a favor and change your sig before we get a million threads saying "i cant connect to liquidirc!!"
    hehe i let mine go for about a week before i changed it, then a couple days later i remembered to change the guide too! i wonder how many newbs were like "that damn darthnip is an idiot, i cant connect to liquidirc" :)
     
  9. gotisos

    gotisos Guest

    damn you responded fast sorry, uh

    yeah im behind a router, i only need to accept incoming dcc connections, and i am using zonealarm, the free version, i think it is za pro?? either that or symantec firewall that comes with norton security

    tx

    anybody got sp2? just wondering?
     
  10. gotisos

    gotisos Guest

    we must be in another time zone...............,

    pst... link!! If not any info would be greatly appreciated upon your effort

    damn a touch screen would be great

    ps... the best forum of time!!!
     
  11. SadJoker

    SadJoker Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    SP2 is still in testing.. I have it and its NOT worth installing or even bothering to get.. there's nothing really 'new' to it.. MS added in a popup blocker, an updated version of builtin Firewall and a few other tacky features.. believe me, your better off w/o it! wait for the final version to come out then decide to upgrade to SP2.. btw, if you are using a not so legal version of WinXP ie blacklisted keys SP2 wont install period.. It needs a legit retial key or at least mine did..
     
  12. Kingd

    Kingd Guest

    What exactly is your issue with the firewall? My experience with zone alarm is that when you first use irc and recieve a dcc, zone alarm will ask whether to accept it or not and you can click on the box to make it remember the next time. At that point you click accept and dcc should work fine from then on.
     
  13. SadJoker

    SadJoker Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I dont have an issue with my firewall ; Mcaffee Personal Firewall ; when using IRC. I just happen to despise MS's builtin firewall in Windows XP which MS is updating in SP2.. updated version is more headache then the original IMHO
     
  14. gotisos

    gotisos Guest

    it won't let me accept send, I'll probably just end up reinstalling it to see if it will let me accept sends. whenever I try to get a send, it says set your client to accept send, but I have auto accept on, and I accept *.* file types????
     
  15. darthnip

    darthnip Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Did you disable the ignore feature? if you go to options/DCC/folders, there is an ignore feature that you might need to disable, and make sure you uncheck the "turn back on in XX minutes' box. does it do this on every bot or just a few. there are some bots that you simply wont be able to connect to. It could be an issue on their end, or the fact that you are just to many hops away to make a solid connection. If you come on our IRC channel, i can try and send you something and maybe we can get you figured out.
     
  16. gotisos

    gotisos Guest

    cool thanks,

    I am going to try what you said, and then play around with the settings more to see if I can't get it to work, if I can't I'll drop by the ad channel!!!

    tx
     
  17. gotisos

    gotisos Guest

    thanks darthnip,

    I figured the problem out, I forget to set mirc to recognize my firewall, but I got it working fine now, yay!!!!!!!!

    Thank you
    gotisos?
     

Share This Page