1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sees Config Disk as GC disc, then read error

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by isobelle, Nov 7, 2007.

1. isobelle

isobelle Member

Hey guys,

I've been having issues with my Wiikey, and figured i'd start a thread while i kill time burning all the different versions of the setup disc i could find.

the story so far:

i've installed the wiikey myself, I think i did a good job. I'm not a pro, but took my time and made sure each wire is sufficiently 'in place'. Not gonna bother with the hassle of posting pictures... but the install went smoothly.

it's a Japanese wii i bought the day it came out (live here in japan), updated to 3.1J firmware yesterday before doing all this.

tried initially burning the 1.3 config disk to no name media, it recognizes it as a GC disk, then gives error messages. I found a thread here that says i should try loading the 1.2 first, so i ran out, bought expensive media (Fuji, TDK, and Maxell... hard to find verbatim in japan, so i bought three different types) went ahead and burnd the 1.2 update at 1x using Imgburn. no luck.

found another thread talking about 1.2b, burning that now.

my question is mostly: if it recognizes the disc as a gamcube disc, then something has to be working right? i took it back apart and checked my solder points, it looks solid, i even redid one point, even thought it looked okay. no mishaps during the install (briding gaps with solder, or messy points that needed cleaning up). i'm just not able to boot anything other than originals at this point (which all work fine).

anyone have any other ideas to throw out there?

2. isobelle

isobelle Member