1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sending internet to PS2 from computer?

Discussion in 'PS2' started by terio, Apr 1, 2005.

1. terio

terio Member

Hi everyone, I have a computer that has 2 ethernet cards in it. One is a wireless card which I use on a wireless network to get my internet. The other is a regular ethernet card with a opening for a rj45 (your typical ethernet cable head). If I connect a ethernet wire from the card in my computer to my ps2 network adapter, is there someway I can route/forward/send the internet to the ps2? Any suggestions or tips are appreciated.

2. DurGil

DurGil Guest

I have the same question. I have a WAP connected to my router which is connected to my broadband. With a Cat-5 cable I can connect to the router directly and get my PS2 online, but would rather not have cabless strung all across the room. Any help would be appreciated. I have some basic experience with networking, but am stumped here. Thanks in advance.

3. trys

trys Member

I don't have a router, but a stupid ADSL speedtouch connection. Without buying one, there is a way apparently.

Using a crossover cable from the PS2 NETWORK ADAPTER, to the back of [bold]1[/bold] spare 10/100 NIC CARD?

Last edited: Apr 1, 2005
  4. Icemonkey

Icemonkey Active member

@terio:
    Best route to go would to buy a wireless bridge adapter to convert the ethernet on the PS2 to wireless and configure it to connect directly to the router.

@DurGil:
    Same solution. A wireless bridge would allow your PS2 to connect to the WAP.

@trys:
    If you run Windows and it has the Internet Connection Sharing feature, enable it and run that CAT5 crossover cable between the PS2 and the open LAN port on the PC.

5. trys

trys Member

Yeah is the LAN port the Ethernet output at the back? If I enable the Connection Sharing Feature, but says the LAN must be disconnected, Error 783.