1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Serious AGP Help ASAP

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by ACIDMX, Jul 14, 2007.

  1. ACIDMX

    ACIDMX Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok so I have this new agp card.

    It works when I dont plug in the 4 pin power.

    When I plug it in my monitor gets no signal?

    My PSU meets al the requirements.


    Whats the deal?
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,073
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what card?
     
  3. ACIDMX

    ACIDMX Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Its a eVGA 7600GS AGP
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,073
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what does the card manual say about power needed? see if manual shows power pinout on card connector? does the computer appear to be posting when power is applied to the card eventho don't see anything on screen but can tell by the leds?
     
  5. ACIDMX

    ACIDMX Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It says "If your card is equipped with a supplemental power adapter, we strongly advise that it be connected at the time of installation. The supplemental power adapter ensures that your video card receives a clean strong power signal that will allow it to function at optimal performance levels."



    I would say that the computer definitely boots up even thought there is nothing no signal to the monitor.




     
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,073
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    are you using an adapter or straight lead from psu?
     
  7. ACIDMX

    ACIDMX Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I tried both.

     
  8. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    What brand is your PSU? It might be rated highly but if cheap it could be unable to deliver enough power to the card, that happens a lot.
     

Share This Page