1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Service Pack 2

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by Spider323, Oct 15, 2004.

  1. Spider323

    Spider323 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hey, is Windows Service Packs 2 any good? Is it worth downloading and installing? An willl everything I have now still work? Will I be able to uninstall it? Thanks
     
  2. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    It's a bunch of supposed security updates and a boatload of security nagging to go with it. I've no use for it and never installed it.

    If you do install it you should plan on having to update some of your apps to work with it.
     
  3. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,076
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    it might also cause some things not to work such as printers so you take your chances
     
  4. MXGzX

    MXGzX Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't plan on putting it on my computer but may on parent's since they hardly do anything on theirs except for browsing on the internet and checking e-mail
    :)
     
  5. forkndave

    forkndave Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    10
    I've put it on three computers with no problems. Maybe I'm just lucky. They all had Athlon XP CPUs and Via chipsets. Don't know if this made a difference or not. It actually seemed to improve the operation of these three computers.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]Soyo KT-600 Ultra Platinum, XP 3000+, 1024 MB PC 3200
    160 GB Maxtor SATA, 250 GB Maxtor SATA
    Lite-On LDW 411S@811S, Lite-On SOHD 167T, Pioneer A07
    GF FX 5600 Ultra[/small]
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2004
  6. fasfrank

    fasfrank Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    4,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I could not get it off my PC fast enough! I have been doing a bunch of Javascript stuff and it thinks everytime I do something with the code that some virus is attacking. Liked to make me insane with those "takes three clicks to get rid of them" warnings. I happily restored my unit to an earlier time.
     
  7. viper8437

    viper8437 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i actually just installed it and it works great
    couple more additions popup block, firewall, virus protection,(both of which i disabled anyway) and it actually improved my wireless signal strength from very low to good. Everything else works fine. im happy with it
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]-Viper
    SOny Vaio Rx-850
    2.4 GHz
    512 MB
    Pentium 4[/small]
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2004
  8. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I imagine SP2 will benefit some more than others.

    I don't network, use wireless or trust Microsoft's updates so that why I never even considered updating. Plus my PC is running ship-shape without it so no need to rock the boat :)
     
  9. chs2004

    chs2004 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    service pack 2 sucks. ive tried downloading right off the bat on the new comp i built and had to reformat multiple times after trying becuase windows would not start with it installed
     
  10. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,076
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    thing is with sp2 is that you should update bios if you hadn't already
     
  11. andmerr

    andmerr Guest

    i installed the 266 meg upgrade but it found a distinct dislike to my current virus protection so i have had to alter the functions on the virus software .
     
  12. Arnold2

    Arnold2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hello,

    Thank you for the helpful information
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2004
  13. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,076
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    try uninstalling sp2 than retry download
     
  14. Arnold2

    Arnold2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thank you for the helpful information

     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2004
  15. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    If everything worked before the SP2 install it has to be that. As Nephilim stated it is a bunch of junk (I'm still being nice). I can't understand why everyone thinks because its from Microsoft its great stuff. Unless you are having extreme security issues with you present system, stay away from it.

    Jerry
     
  16. Arnold2

    Arnold2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thank you

    going to un install.. thought I read some where win was not going to up date if you did not have sp2.

    maybe they were wrong.

    After further investigation I have had sp2 for a couple of weeks now.
    I up date a files from AfterDawn a day or two ago with no problem.

    Wonder if anyone else has had download problems?

    That would be a new topic?
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2004
  17. gruel

    gruel Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I agree with Nephilim if your pc works fine and your happy with it then why upgrade!

    Problem i got is i left my pc on over night downloading stuff and i have seemed to have downloaded sp2, thought my auto updates were turned off. Does anyone know how to remove the "updates ready to be installed" icon sitting in my task bar as its been there for over a week and is getting annoying now.
    thanks

     
  18. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,076
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    check your msconfig or registry
     
  19. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    You permanently disable Windows Update like this:

    Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Services > find Automatic Updates, double click it then set the startup type to disabled :)
     
  20. Arnold2

    Arnold2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hello,

    I removed sp2 a couple of time before- had to re install, programs would not run. Also programs are being updated for sp2. What happens then? Stay with the older ver.?

    if you have it and want to remove:
    start/ control panel/ add remove programs / sp2 / remove / If you have updated programs sense the sp2 your programs may not run or be unstable. It will tell you when you click remove. GOOD LUCK!
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2004

Share This Page