1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

setting up my pc... opinions any one?

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by breddick, Mar 31, 2005.

1. breddick

breddick Member

OK, so this is my first post on here but I've been doing a lot of reading and research into file encoding and cd/dvd making.

I've got a mini dvd camera and I've transferred video to my pc a few times in the past... edited them with movie maker... and played around with them. Thats about the extent of what I've done. I'm ready to take the next step and start making dvd's.

I am about to buy the hardware that I think I need to be able to successfully create dvd's and I was wondering if I could get some opinions on them. I must mention now that I am a full time college student and getting this stuff cheap is a must!!!

First off let me tell you what I have NOW, and then tell you what I'm currently planning to buy.

I have:
    Dell dimension 4500
    XP home ed.
    1.8 ghz P4
    256mb ram (two slots, one filled with the 256)
    40 gig HD, 26 gigs free space
    Internal Firewire port (added for the mini dv camera)

I plan to buy:
    512 more ram
    extra 80 gig HD (added internally)
    dvd burner (dual layer, all formats)

I have currently decided on the following items at newegg:

Maxtor HD http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=22-144-205&depa=1

Rosewill Ram http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=20-223-025&depa=1

NEC dvd burner http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproductdesc.asp?description=27-152-035&DEPA=1

Rather than type all of the specs I figured I would just include a link to newegg for each of them. There are quite a few to choose from for each of the three items I'm looking at (esp the burner).