1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sharkport Disc

Discussion in 'PS2 - CD backup discussion' started by mrcolin1, Aug 12, 2004.

  1. mrcolin1

    mrcolin1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey guys, I had a question. My sharkport disc, the PS2 One gives me the, "Please insert a playstation 2 Disc" error, I was wondering if yall could help me out. Can I make a copy of it? My ps2 is not modified. Anything that could help would be appreciated. Thanks
     
  2. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Do you have a new ps2? if so, your probably out of luck (gameshark doesn't work either on new ones). Your going to need a mod of some sort.
     
  3. mrcolin1

    mrcolin1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks. So is that true. Because I just bought the ps2 recently, cause my old one broke. Man, why is it that they dont work? That really chaps my ass. I don't know much about modifying it though. Whats the best way to do it, and where would I buy the stuff. I would want something that I didnt have to solder. Suggestions?
     
  4. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Sony regularly updates the BIOS with each revision of the PS2 in an effort to fight system modding and booting of rouge software such as Gameshark/Sharkport/Action Replay. To date, I have yet to hear of anybody that got a Sharkport disc to work on a PS2 higher than v3 (the last model to have 10 outer housing screws). I remember spending $30 on a Sharkport kit and then being told by the manufacturer that I would have to pay an additional $20 for an upgrade that was required to get it to work with my newer v4 PS2 at the time. Instead of paying an additional $20 for the upgrade I just took the entire thing back and got $30 instead. Try sites such as http://www.playstationmodchip.com , http://www.modchip.com , and http://www.easybuy2000.com to learn about options that are out there and how to impliment them.
     
  5. mrcolin1

    mrcolin1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey, Thanks for helping me out. With the Magic V Modchip, do you have to solder it. Thing is, I would have no clue how do it. What would I do. Also, what do you use for media. It would be stupid to buy dvd media because they cost so much more. But do the cd-r's not work well? Also, that swap stuff sounds kind of annoying. What do you suggest I do?
     

Share This Page