1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Shining Tears

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by titch71, Apr 1, 2005.

  1. titch71

    titch71 Guest

    Folks,

    I was wondering if anyone that has shining tears could tell me if the DVD is constantly being accessed during the game i know other games do this like GTA SA and can understand why but shining tears doesn't exactly seem very memory hungry to require reading the disk all the time.

    Cheers
     
  2. titch71

    titch71 Guest

    Strange thing it stopped after i loaded from a save game. Could anyone also confirm if the characters talk when the speech bubbles appear or if it is text only.

    I am using Swap Magic 3.3 and have tried using DVDloader 5v3 no pn as per swapmagicfix site for SM2.0/3.0 but this makes no difference
     
  3. titch71

    titch71 Guest

    Confirmation this is ok after a save ie once you bypass the very start! Anyone noticed similar issues or does it reappear later.
     
  4. gr_wisdom

    gr_wisdom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I’ve made 2 copies of this game using 2 different dvd-r brands burning at 1x but it loads a black screen after the swap magic screen. Does anyone have this similar problem or know how to fix this? I’m using the old 2.0 swap magic by the way.
     
  5. titch71

    titch71 Guest

    check out www.swapmagicfix.com i think it needs cdloader to work
     
  6. azn_kda

    azn_kda Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    shining tears does constantly trying to read the disc from the beginning you put the game in. so it's better if you put them in the hdd. other than that, it's a good rpg game.
     
  7. titch71

    titch71 Guest

    cheers azn_kda i was wondering if it was trying to load speech for the speech bubbles and not able to find the information for some reason. I've haven't played it much yet. I saved the game as soon as i was able to and after that the constant disk access stopped now it only accesses the disk when it is loading different pictures of people. It may go back to this further in the game and i am sure the review states that loading times are terrible poor programming i guess.
     
  8. gr_wisdom

    gr_wisdom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the info on cdloader, but I guess I'm screwed b/c my system can't read cd-r's at all so therefore I can't swap. :(. Wonder if you know sm version 3.6 or 3.3 will fix this prob?
     
  9. gr_wisdom

    gr_wisdom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    megagames.com usually have patches to fix games like this, but can't find one yet. Anyone knows of any place with patches for this game?
     
  10. titch71

    titch71 Guest

    SM 3.3 Works fine with shining tears with me but you might not need that you can get a dvd version of cdloader.... dvdloader but its a bit harder to find you can get it from PS2NFO.COM i just downloaded it today to make sure i have a copy incase i need it in the future. I don't know if this will solve your problem but it should as it is basically the same program but on DVD. Mind and check which version you need on swapmagic fix as i think it depends on your ps2 version also.
     
  11. gr_wisdom

    gr_wisdom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Man, waste a whole separate DVd just for some 1mb file just to get Shining tears backup to work? I still might try it though. Are you certain at least 95% that it'd work on the dvdloader though? Thanks man!
     
  12. titch71

    titch71 Guest

    If you use the correct version for your console then yeah i guess it would be worth it i have used the dvdloader to get baldurs gate dark alliance II to work. I reckon it would work as everything i have tried that is supposed to work for me so far has worked.

    There are quite a few games now that need cd/dvdloader/cogswap to work with sm2.0/3.0 so i guess it depends on how much you want to spend. If you don't want to spend much then its worth a try for 1 dvd else go for SM3.3. I don't know if there are any issues with 3.6.
     
  13. gr_wisdom

    gr_wisdom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sorry, for some reasons I couldn't get to this ps2nfo site. They banned my address for some reasons that I don't even know... Plus I can't even find a DVDloader for this shining tears game on google, could you please post the url and swapping directions? Thanks.
     
  14. titch71

    titch71 Guest

    I think ps2nfo has banned almost eveyone for some strange reason don't think they are very popular in some circles.

    If you private message me with your email address then i will send over the correct dvdloader depending on the version of your ps2

    Shining Tears (DVD) USA

    CDLoader - V1-6 FiX - OPTION 5v3 NO PN
    CDLoader v7 ALL - V7+ FiX - OPTION 5v3 NO PN
     
  15. LuKeFire

    LuKeFire Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    You must the ISO image Rebuild then function the play perfectly without CDLoader!!

    [bold]Here the guidance like it is made:[/bold]
    http://mitglied.lycos.de/lukestorm/ISO Rebuild.doc

    [bold]If the Download with one do not linkclick functioned then rightclick<Safe under>[/bold]

    I hope I could help!



     
  16. gr_wisdom

    gr_wisdom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks LuKeFire , I'll give it a try using this guide when I've free time since I think I've seen this guide before and I think it can also be use to convert cd games onto dvd games (I've ps2 cd games that don't work also).

    For now, titch71, can you send me a Sh T dvdloader for ps2 version 4-5 (I believe). Here's the add vnt_3000atyahoodotcom. Thanks!
     
  17. titch71

    titch71 Guest

    gr_wisdom ave sent them over just now the file is just over 1mb some hopefully you will get it soon

    cheers

    titch
     
  18. Lexiticus

    Lexiticus Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ya Mine does the same thing (I have a Messiah Chip)

    BUT i saved and loaded and its still ticking away like theres no tomorow.

    I used alcohol 120%. Going to try with DVD Decryptor next, cause the game looks really good so far.
     
  19. titch71

    titch71 Guest

    The ticking seems to come back once you go into battle it's a pain in the backside but looks like it is meant to be like that, ps i used dvd-decrypter so i cant see it making a difference. I also tried using cdloader and it diodnt change a thing.
     
  20. gr_wisdom

    gr_wisdom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    This game seems like it was intentionally designed & meant to be an avg. or below avg. game. The game's so linear so far and graphics is so outdated& has very poor programming and c'mon, they could've put more effort into it, really.
    Only a select few would like this sort of stuff.
     

Share This Page