1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

should i buy swap magic

Discussion in 'PS2' started by leif24, May 10, 2004.

  1. leif24

    leif24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    how much of a hasstle is it??how many swaps are needed to play dvd backups?does anyone know if there are plans for a dvd ver.3? should i wait? i have an early ps2 with s box mod.will dvd ver.3 fix the need for cd loader. fortunantly it looks like there is only a small handull of games that need cd-loader.is that right?
     
  2. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    swap magic is simple to use(load swap magic disc swap for game backup).For a list of problem games with swap magic checkout http://www.swapmagicfix.com/ and about swap magic 3 dvd there was suposed to be a version in construction but because version 2 dvd works on all ps2's the last info i found was that they had no plans to release a v3 dvd in the near future
     
  3. billz

    billz Active member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    yes, Swap magic is definately the way to go for the do it yourselfer. Most games only need 1 swap and a select few need a second swap with cd loader but unless your can solder well or willing to pay someone who can get swap magic with a fliptop or no solder chip
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2004
  4. zxspeky

    zxspeky Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    swap magic is good, but can be tempremental, I use the mem card exploit to boot cd-r's because the sm3cd disk keeps going back to the browser screen, the exploit can also be used to boot dvd-r's and it works well so you don't really need to buy swap magic it just depends on whether you mind swaping a couple of times or not
     
  5. jagger2k

    jagger2k Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i woudn't bother i wasted £20 on them, to much hastle load this then that then the other thing then ur backup an so on you might aswell invest into a mod chiphal the time it dont work and when u want to load up the cd disk it goes to the red screen saying please insert a ps2 or ps1 format game, you have to restart ur ps2 like 3 time before it loads up. DON'T BOTHER!!!!!!
     
  6. Velesco

    Velesco Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ive had them for about half a year now and they dont give me any problems. The cd loader thing is not that much of a hassle but does take a couple of seconds away from your life
     

Share This Page