1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

should i need a umd disc

Discussion in 'Sony PSP - Games' started by sundeep12, Feb 20, 2007.

  1. sundeep12

    sundeep12 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi friends should i need a umd disc inserted in my psp to play cso or iso games.because if i remove umd disc i am not able to play any games i.e i should start a cso or iso game from umd icon only.i am using firmware 2.71 version and ofcourse devhook.
     
  2. mrgooey

    mrgooey Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,058
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    yes u should have a UMD. I reccomend to get 3.03 OE because not all games need UMD.
     
  3. sundeep12

    sundeep12 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hello friend.thank u for ur response.i have some doubts to clarify.can u help me.
    my psp version is2.71 and it is modded.i am using devhook.
    so now i want to play new releases in 2007.so how can i update my psp and how can i play my cso or iso games.
    please help me
     
  4. mrgooey

    mrgooey Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,058
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    if u want to update then update your dev hook version. I recommend you to install 3.03 OE. This Custom Firmware has a 3.03 version but can also run iso/cso and homebrew games. If u need the latest version which is 3.10 then download the 3.10 OE-A. U MUST DOWNGRADE UR PSP TO 1.5 if u want to install 3.03 OE. It may brick ur psp.
     
  5. sundeep12

    sundeep12 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok.can u please help me with step by step guide.
    my psp firmware is 2.7.
     
  6. kyubi06

    kyubi06 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    good evening sirs/maddame, may i ask what is devhook? feedback is highly appreciated.
     
  7. Eisherz

    Eisherz Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    78
    DevHook is a firmware emulator/iso loader. When you are on firmware 1.50, you can't directly load iso or cso files, you need a loader. Also later games check for the firmware version you have on your PSP and only work with a firmware that wasn't hacked when they were released. So DevHook emulates this firmware. Latest version is 0.52 (beta), it emulates firmware 3.03, but is a bit unstable. Also with the custom firmware it's outdated.
     
  8. sundeep12

    sundeep12 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    what is custom firmware.please tell me step by step how to mod my psp.and when and why should i formate my memory stick
     
  9. mrgooey

    mrgooey Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,058
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    BEFORE ALL THAT :
    cHECK UR MOBO if it is TA-0XX. If yes then dont follow these steps.

    A custom firmare is like any other firmware but it can allow you to play iso/cso games. The latest one is 3.10 OE. But ppl said there were issues with the 3.10 OE, (like me.)

    First you must downgrade. Upgrade to 2.8 firmware and update ur psp.

    Second use this easy downgrader. It may be in german but then just click yes. There should be english. If not then translate with babelfish. Complete the downgrade and get 1.5. USE AT RISK CAN BRICK PSP.

    GUIDES
    To upgrade to 2.8 http://www.psp-hacks.com/file/1039
    To downgrade to 1.5 by 2.8 http://www.psp-hacks.com/file/1040

    Easy downgrader Best http://www.psp-hacks.com/file/1011
    Worst http://www.psp-hacks.com/file/974
    2.8 formware http://www.psp-hacks.com/file/663
     
  10. sundeep12

    sundeep12 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    friend u tried to tell me how to uprade my psp to 3.03 0e.but its bit confusing.
    i checked my psp and it has no ta-0xx motherboard.
    and i only managed to download all the software from the links u provided.that all
    first of all i dont know what is modding of psp.what is it actually.is there any addition of hardwarei.e modchips
    secondly when should i formate my memory card.
    please suggest me a safe way of doing this upgrade
    please use step by step method and comment on uses of doing so in every step.
    thank u
     
  11. mrgooey

    mrgooey Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,058
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    1. You dont need any hardware or modchips.
    2. You dont need to format ur MS. I upgrade and downgrade without format. If u like to format then save on ur stuff on ur pc.
    3 and 4. Plz check the stickies on the PSP General Questions . There should be a thread called a Mother oad of Guide or something, Search for guides at google.
     
  12. sundeep12

    sundeep12 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    oh thank you very much.atlast i got some insight about this psp modding.
    so if i install sony firmware version 3.0,i wont be able to play cso\iso files.is that right.
    then what is ur review on 3.03 oe-b custom firmware.
     
  13. mrgooey

    mrgooey Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,058
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Any Sony Official Firmware can not play iso/cso. Only 1.5 can play homebrew games or apps (that lets u to play iso/cso)

    I think that 3.03 OE-B sucks. Get 3.03 OE-C, becuase it is updated and u can toggle the flash0 files. DO NOT mess with the Flash0 files unless u know what are u doing. 3.10 is the worst because most plugin does not work.
     
  14. sinsaint

    sinsaint Guest

    some games will work without a umd in the umd slot but when it gets to loading screen it will probably stall.

    i use umd mode from recovery menu as no-umd made my cso games crash.

    i advised it, you can always just keep the demo disk you got with your psp in the umd slot, doesnt matter what umd you use.
     
  15. sundeep12

    sundeep12 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thank u friends.thank u very much.
    i surfed the internet and i got some links for the guide.
    but anyway i u can show me the step to step procedd of upgrading and installation of softwares.that will be fine.
    but its ok still as i got some links though quiet confusing i can manage.
     
  16. mrgooey

    mrgooey Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,058
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    i didnt got a UMD disc when i got my psp...
     

Share This Page