1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

should i update to play online?

Discussion in 'PS3 - Modding & Hacking' started by henry101, Mar 21, 2007.

  1. henry101

    henry101 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    im at 1.50 right now. my ps3 says i need to update before going online. im sure ppl have gone online without upgrading considering they were playing online when the ps3 first came out before any firmware updates.
    first i buy a game that asks me to update and now i buy a router to play online and im asked to update once again. should i update or is there a way around this...for a noob such as myself.
     
  2. adz_fahie

    adz_fahie Guest

    well there is meant to be a loader (start games from your hard drive) coming soon so if you plan on using that use the firmware bypass method to play online and wait for it to arrive. However if you do not intend on backing up your games onto your hard drive. Then you may as well update. as it improves your ps3 the latest firmware version 1.60 (i think) out on the 22nd allows you to cue up to 6 downloads whilst you are playing a game or on the internet and more features which i forget so there are some advantages to it all :-D

    hope this helps

    adz
     
  3. henry101

    henry101 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    what do i ned to bypass the firmware? linux?
    im new to all this...
     
  4. dvdking10

    dvdking10 Guest

    ok go to ps3news and downlaod ps3proxyserver from there after that there is a tut there that will explain how 2 set it up u just need 2 find the right thread that tells u (search it at the site) and youll be on your way also u might have 2 update to 1.51 also the iso loader has been confirmend to work on 1.51 and below good luck
     
  5. henry101

    henry101 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    cant find what ure talking about...can someone just link me to a easy installer hehe
     
  6. henry101

    henry101 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i know im a noob but urgh somebody help me out...im trying to play armored core online here! lol
     
  7. Oner

    Oner Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,929
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    There is no easy updater or anything for that matter. If you want to play online you have to update if you don't update then you have a chance at being able to play backups, iso's, homebrew etc. The loader for Iso's/backups should be out (hopefully) tonight or tomorrow.
     
  8. mduga

    mduga Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i heard the loader isn't going to come out for A WHILE. i think they don't have what they claim they do. i would just go ahead and update if you want all the newest features. unless of coarse, you want to play pirated games and such, then don't. the loader that they supposedly made, requires firmware 1.51 or lower. i will believe it when i see it...

     
  9. johnc1234

    johnc1234 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i too am having this problem. its a 1.50 ps3, and i want to go play online, but i also want to play back up games etc. im gettin im[atient and ive only had my ps3 for like an hour!!!
     
  10. DBM_Bones

    DBM_Bones Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well if you ever want to play on-line then your have to update. if you have the loader you will not be able to play on-line, so take your pic. depends on what you want to do with your PS3, play single player and have the hope of playing pirate games, or play on-line.

    Also as the games are so big, you only going to get 2-3 games on the HDD, unless you upgrade, or have an external. if you a noob as you say, I don't think your have the know how to use the loader anyway

    there are 2sides to this, if 95% of the pirating can be stopped hopfully we will all get cheeper games. if you belive them.

     
  11. johnc1234

    johnc1234 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    okay thanx for the inform. by the way, do you have a ps3, and if you do have you upgraded, or have you waited for the iso loader?
     
  12. DBM_Bones

    DBM_Bones Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'm on 1.6 and playing RFOM online all weak. makes up for the game being so short. still up-to par with other PC on-line FPS tho. but very good. and at least they are doing updates. which was the bigest problem with console online gameing, one an exploit has been found it's hard to stop it. and the games becomes a joke. so use the HDD for what it's there for.

    I do have a Toxic OS on my PS2 and a 250 GB HDD, and love it. plus got the component lead so I can play in HD :)

    I'd just enjoy the PS3 for what it is currently, in a years time when you have loads of games and don't want to keep swaping then get a loader. im sure if they can make a loader they can make a firmware patch to downgrade.

    if you can upgrade you can downgrade. you just need the firmware and the firmware software.

    as you can put linux on it, its going to be easier than a PSP. to downgrade.
     
  13. johnc1234

    johnc1234 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    say if i DO want to update, do i just use the icon in the ps3s xmb?
     
  14. DBM_Bones

    DBM_Bones Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Im not at home but as far as I can remember it was just click on upgrade in the system menu on the main screen. it was very easy. unless your are under 10 I don't think your have a problem ;) I think even most 6 years could work it out.
     
  15. johnc1234

    johnc1234 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    okay thanx for helping a n00b, i know how frustrating it is when i help n00bs with psp's. lol, so thanx a lot, you aint half helped a lot. as for now i think i will stay at 1.50 f/w, because i only have the one game which is motorstorm, i will consider upgrading when i get a few good games.
     
  16. DBM_Bones

    DBM_Bones Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    No problem its nice to get a thank you reply now and then, makes up for all the flames you get, for voiceing an opinion, check out the idiot in the F1 thread.
     
  17. henry101

    henry101 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    this thread is still going? oh my i downloaded simple dns like 5min after i started it. ive been playing online this whole time haha. viva la resistance!
     
  18. johnc1234

    johnc1234 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    oh by the way, is there any way where you can talk to other people online, like xbox live uses a mic, does ps3 have one?
     
  19. DBM_Bones

    DBM_Bones Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Just use a mobile phone bluetooth headset, and you can chat away. in game or via the main screen. works fine.
     
  20. johnc1234

    johnc1234 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    koooool, i may have to invest in one. do you need location free to stream music and videos from ps3 to psp?
     

Share This Page