1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Shrink says DVD is 4463mb, Decypher says it is 8634mb

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by ChrisM12, Jan 13, 2005.

1. ChrisM12

ChrisM12 Member

I am new at both of these. I am trying to copy Sum of All Fears, and the Shrink anylizes it and says it is 4463mb, but when I go to Decypher, the first step is to check the size, and it says something different. What do I do? What am I not doing or doing wrong?

2. Nephilim

Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

You're doing nothing wrong. By default Shrink will show the size of the movie when compressed whereas Decrypter will show the true size because it doesn't do any sort of comression.

After Shrink does it's analysis you should see a drop down on the top right that is set to "Automatic". If you select "No Compression" from that drop down you'll see the true size :)

3. ChrisM12

ChrisM12 Member

Thank you. I am new at this. After selecting "No Commpression", and it shows the size that is double what it needs to be, what is the best way to get the size to within limits? Do you have to eliminate parts of the DVD?

4. ChrisM12

ChrisM12 Member

Ok, I have the adjustment to a commpression of the main movie of 59% and the extras to 57% by eliminating all audio tracks except the AC3 5.1-ch English. Is this as good as I could get?

5. hursty

hursty Active member

59% is low.
    if you dont need all the extras,get rid of them

6. ChrisM12

ChrisM12 Member

If I wanted to keep the extras, couldn't I decrease the commpression percentages on the extras, to keep the comp on the main movie up? And still be able to watch the extras but with less quality??

7. ChrisM12

ChrisM12 Member

If so, what is the minimum comp percentage I should use on the extras? Any other things I could take out to save space??

Last edited: Jan 13, 2005
  8. Nephilim

Nephilim Moderator Staff Member