1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sims 2 again

Discussion in 'CD-R' started by Molder, Nov 2, 2004.

  1. Molder

    Molder Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi guys,
    I read most of the posts here on Sims 2 but couldn't see the same problem I have.

    I bought the kids (it for the kids honest) Sims 2, it is the CD version, I want to back up disc 1, I copied it using Alcohol 52% (safe disc 2) I burnt the image using DVD decrypter, Loaded the game fine (using Backup disc 1) after install, when the backed up disc 1 is installed, the PC hangs at the Sims 2 splash screen (both the HDD light and CD light stay lit), is there a way around this?

    M
     
  2. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    The image needs to be burned with Alcohol120% in order to write the protection back to the disc properly. Decrypter can't do that :)
     
  3. Molder

    Molder Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks for that, I have a trial of 120% somewhere.

    M
     
  4. Aileron

    Aileron Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Is it only disk 1 that has the Safedisk copy protection?
     
  5. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I don't have that particular game so I can't tell you exactly which disc is protected but normally only the play disc is protected. You can use A-Ray scanner to verify which one is protected :)

    http://www.aray-software.com/
     
  6. Aileron

    Aileron Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    *sigh* I'm still running up against a brick wall....or splash screen ;) with this one.

    Even after re-doing Disk 1 with the safedisk protection, and a slower speed (4x) (I'm using Alcohol120), it still gives that error message.

    Did anyone ever find a definative (eaily explainable) way around this?
     
  7. pollushon

    pollushon Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Unfortunately with this Safedisc 3.2 protection it all comes down to your burner. Which is? Some burners are just simply not capable of producing a working backup disc, only an image. I'm guessing you have all Safedisc emulations enabled?
     
  8. Molder

    Molder Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have not been able to make a disc that will run the game, I can install off the disc but it won't run the game, I read a bit more in other forums here and concluded I don't have the right burner to burn safe disc protection.

    Ho hum.

    M
     

Share This Page