1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sims 2 too big for dvd

Discussion in 'CD-R' started by oldhalvy, Mar 14, 2005.

  1. oldhalvy

    oldhalvy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have the sims 2 and other DVD game iso files. I want to burn them on to a dvd but it says that there is not enough space on the disk. Is there something I can do to fix this or some program that I can use to make it work?
     
  2. squizzle

    squizzle Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Are you trying to burn more than one game onto a single DVDR? I've heard that's possible but it's not too easy. I just do one game apiece.
     
  3. jugbugs

    jugbugs Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What I ended up doing for sims 2 is doing a FULL install using the original disk then using alcohol 120% to make a virtual sims disk on my HDD so that the game would run w/o the DVD in the drive. There are plenty of tutorials online if you just look.
     
  4. squizzle

    squizzle Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    are you talking about a PC game? I thought you were talking about a PS2 game for some reason. My bad. I really don't know enough about that one to answer your question accurately.
     
  5. oldhalvy

    oldhalvy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    to clarify I want to put one game on one DVD disk. I would do the virtual drive with Alcohol but EA games detects the emulation software. And anyways I still want to put it on a DVD disk. So is it possible to put this single game (that I have an iso file for) on to a standard 4.7 gb DVD.
     
  6. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I take it you're using A120 to burn the ISO? You may want to disable A120's virtual drive and use Daemon Tools to mount thew image since it gets detected by SafeDisc 3.20.022 much less.
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2005
  7. thebigbos

    thebigbos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I must agree with Nephilim. It is better to use Deamon tools but there is one problem however. YOU MUST REMOVE CLONE-CD AND CLONED-DVD from your system. Deamon tools will not work if these programs are installed
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2005
  8. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Good point. Also, of all the apps used for games and such Clone CD gets blacklisted the most.
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2005
  9. oldhalvy

    oldhalvy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok so that might be how I make it possible to play on my computer. But how do I go about putting the game on a DVD so it is playable in other computers.
     
  10. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I don't mess with downloaded games so I don't know what to tell you.
     
  11. thebigbos

    thebigbos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I cant help you with this one. I use sims2 on cd not dvd.Have you tried to zip it and then copy it to dvd an just install it on the other pc
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2005
  12. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You cannot make a DVD backup (as of yet) as no program can write the protection back to a dvd format.

    The only way to play with out the disc is what -Nephilim- stated in his previous post.
    I think all Safedisc DVD games are this way...mount with Daemon tools.
     

Share This Page