1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Skipping at ends of chapters

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by saint4c, Dec 19, 2004.

1. saint4c

saint4c Member

I have been using shrink for a very long time now and have had no problems until recently. Every 2 out of five discs now skip at about 2/3rds of the way through the film. And on discs that have small chapters that play indenpently of one another, the ones in the middle skip. I have read that this could be a problem with media, but I have been using Ritek G04's for about 6 months with no problems. Could by Burner be getting tired? We burn about two to three a day. If so is there any wat to check?

Please, any help would be appreciated.

AMD Athalon XP +2600
    Nvidia GeForce 4
    400+ GB ROM
    1.25 GB RAM
    Lite On DVD-R/-RW 811s

Thanks

Last edited: Jan 3, 2005
  2. colw

colw Active member

Are you using labels on your burnt DVD's??

If so, these will deteriorate over time and cause playback/skipping/freezing problems.

3. saugmon

saugmon Senior member

Hello saint4c, Sound like a media problem. I been reading a lot of issues on the ritek g04's. It may need a firmware update.This may help you get started. Are the G04's you using now from a different lot? Later

4. saint4c

saint4c Member

Hello,

I am using printable G04 Ritek -R all from the same lot. I ordered 100 DVDs and it was only now that I am burning the last 10 or so DVDs that I am having a skipping problem. This is why I think it is not the media. I ordered new DVDs and the same problem arises.

Thanks

5. saugmon

saugmon Senior member

How do those g4 backups look when you play them on your pc?That new batch you got, were they from the same place as your last batch?

6. saint4c

saint4c Member