1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

skipping/ pausing durning playback of dvd movies

Discussion in 'Video playback problems' started by mr_2005, Apr 4, 2007.

  1. mr_2005

    mr_2005 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've noticed sometimes my movies will pause/skip during playback.

    is this a normal is there something I am doing wrong. i use dvd shrink to resize the dvd then burn with nere to dvd.

    any thoughts or advice?

    thanks
     
  2. dialysis1

    dialysis1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Almost always this is due to poor media.
     
  3. mr_2005

    mr_2005 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i'm using sony dvd-R's.

    Is there something better I should be using?
     
  4. dialysis1

    dialysis1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You're gonna have to give more information.
    Can you post a Nero burn log?
     
  5. mr_2005

    mr_2005 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    this wouldn't be causeed by me using my pc while the backup/burn is going would it?

     
  6. dialysis1

    dialysis1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    How about trying without multitasking and closing any programs running in the background.
     
  7. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Are you using the Quality Settings when you do the backup with Shrink? Compression errors can cause skipping. Also, make sure your DVD surface is clean and polished. One of the children put a DVD in while eating KFC and then asked me why the movie was skipping. There was a big greasy fingerprint on the DVD.
     
  8. mr_2005

    mr_2005 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am not familiar with the quality settings? where is this in dvd shrink?
    thanks
     
  9. 300bowler

    300bowler Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    this is where they are
    [​IMG]
     
  10. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    mr_2005
    Check all the boxes for best results.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. SonicTH

    SonicTH Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Mine skip in DVD players that aren't my computer (whose DVD-ROM drives read compressed DVDs just fine).

    Its like conventional DVD players don't have a high enough read speed as there are access pauses and such. I'm using TDK media and burn my DVDs using DVD Decrypter at 4x to burn the ISOs.
     
  12. Car.Mike

    Car.Mike Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,787
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    SonicTH ,
    It sounds like you are having a compatibility problem w/ the blank media you are using and the player . Try using Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden as they are better blank media than TDK
     
  13. Agent0008

    Agent0008 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I use Ritek (RiData), Taiyo Yunden, and Imation I stay away from SONY and TDK. I rarely ever have a disk that won't play in my computer or my DVD players - Panasonic, Philips (old model) and Apex.

    I usually order from newegg.

     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2007
  14. Berryone

    Berryone Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Imation disc are not really quality media.

    Try using Verbatim Media.
    Use Just one Brand of Discs.
    Never multi-task when backing up a movie.
    Keep the burn speed down to 1/2 the rated speed of the disc.
    Try reducing the burnable area on the disc. (4300)in Shrink Preferances.
    Always use perform deed analysis in the quality section of Shrink.
     
  15. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    RiData at one time was manufactured by Ricohjpn, which also manufactured media for such brands as Verbatim. It was good stuff, and still was the last time I used any. Ricoh now sells in most markets under their own brand much as Taiyo Yuden does. Speaking of TY, they manufacturre the Sony +R that is made in Japan. So I wouldn't go writing that one off. I've used a hundred or more of the Taiwan manufactured Sony +R and they've been as good as the Japanese made ones. All my backups have played in every drive I've tried. Some TDK is made by Taiyo Yuden. So check for made in Japan on TDK labels (the house stuff isn't as good). Imation has had a lot of media made by CMC, the same company that ruined Memorex. So, I find some of the suggestions questionable, if not contradictory, when looking at who the manufacturers are.

    I agree on the Imation, they went the same way as Memorex and haven't won a good name back yet. I'll have to disagree in part on multitasking. That depend's on the system being used. I have a system made for it, a dual core with plenty of RAM. The no multitasking suggestions are more for slower single cores with low system resources. The 1/2 rated speed is no longer written in stone. That depends on media and hardware quality. The reduction in content is for use with crappy media that is bad toward the edge. Using good media covers that best. I've never had to change default, but I always try to use good media. Deep analysis can't hurt, but it's only needed when the compression starts picking up. Everybody should know what it's there for and use good judgement. I'm not disagreeing with all you said, but there's another side to part of it.
     
  16. SonicTH

    SonicTH Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'd buy Verbatim but I've never found them in mass quantities (as that's how I buy DVDs).

    Besides, I use TDK for all my PS2 games. It's always done a commendable job in that regard.
     
  17. Car.Mike

    Car.Mike Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,787
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    SonicTH,
    If you are in the U.S. then look in the Sunday adds for BestBuy and OfficeMax as they sometimes put Verbatim on sale for $12.99 for 50
     
  18. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Which manufacturer made the TDK you've been using? Do you have a mix of different manufacturers? TDK doesn't manufacturer all the media sold under the TDK brand. It seems that's a common practice in media sales.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2007
  19. SonicTH

    SonicTH Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    How do I determine that?
     
  20. Car.Mike

    Car.Mike Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,787
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66

Share This Page