1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky box

Discussion in 'Digital TV - UK & Europe' started by mushtapha, Jun 29, 2013.

  1. mushtapha

    mushtapha Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have gotten my hands on a sky decoder box with no viewing card, I can pick up the UK free to air channels, BBC, ITV, music, religion etc., but is there any way to open up any more channels? I have no remote control yet, but can pick one up if need be.
     
  2. mushtapha

    mushtapha Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    By the way, I am ROI based and cannot get ROI free to air channels.
     
  3. cactikid

    cactikid Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,617
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    the box defaults to uk settings as far as i remember,you need to sub to sky to open their channels,so no other way and if that box has a hdd you can remove that as recording wont work on a non subbed box.
     
  4. mushtapha

    mushtapha Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for that, I thought as much, but no harm in asking.
     
  5. dub12dave

    dub12dave Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Why don't you remove the hard drive from the box and then sell both the box and hard drive, even without a remote control you should get yourself €50 for both of them on a site like Adverts.ie then buy yourself a decent cheap box as you will get yourself a lot more free channels that way, you may also find yourself a cheap combo box and that way you can get yourself the Saorview channels too.
     

Share This Page