1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Slow CD Read Speed

Discussion in 'DVD-ROM drives' started by swpkigy, Mar 19, 2005.

  1. swpkigy

    swpkigy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok, lat week I've only installed a few things, but ever since StarCraft has been running way too slow. I can run Counter-Strike: Source very well, but when I try to run Starcraft, it takes about 3-4 minutes for autoplay to kick in and if i double-click on the icon in My Computer, it just freezes.

    I installed Nero 6 Ultra and also a USB DVD burner. Everything is set to DMA Ultra in both Primary and Secondary IDE. Thx
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,008
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what is your computer & game specs & what is your system performance at??
     
  3. swpkigy

    swpkigy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Oh.

    2.4 Ghz Pentium 4
    1024 MB Ram
    ATI Radeon 9250 256MB

    Game specs are VERY low the game came out at least 5 years ago.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2005
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,008
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what windows for game & computer & have you tried game on a similar system to see if problem follows or not. what was added to computer that caused this problem
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2005
  5. swpkigy

    swpkigy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It's Windows XP, and it the problem occured out of nowhere. I just installed Nero and an external usb dvd burner.
     
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,008
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    check to see in the properties of the cd/dvd rom drives if the dma is enabled or not
     
  7. swpkigy

    swpkigy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes DMA is enabled on everything.
     
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,008
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    is the external drive always hooked up or not??
     
  9. swpkigy

    swpkigy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No, I ran out of USB ports on the back of my tower and I have 2 USB ports on the front. It's not aesthetically pleasing and frankly annoys me to have a cable there. I plug it in when I need it.
     
  10. teknow

    teknow Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    having same exact problem. I'm burning DVDs fine, but playing that burned media or any other disc takes forever. All can be well on the first loaded disc, but after that is where problems occur. A restart is usually alleviating the problems that occur on needing to load a second disc. Try disconnecting trough remove hardware in the system tray, unplug usb, remove disc, load new, then plug usb back in.
    I'll likely fix this in the next few hours so stay tuned
     
  11. teknow

    teknow Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    My issue seems to stem come from backed up dvd movies. Putting in the original movie everything functions fine, but a any dvd-r backup I have seems to "stump" the system. This is occuring only in the External drive and not in the internal of the laptop.

    So my question for you would be... Is the media you are "playing" original. What other discs have you tried?
     
  12. teknow

    teknow Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    update
    appears my problem has been a media issue. For whatever reason my "aewsome plextor" 708a doesn't like Matrix Media. It seems to cough, choke, and if I'm extremely luck eventually spit out "play" the disc.

    I'm betting your issue is with writeable media. If I'm wrong excuse me but... my symptoms were identical.

    That's it for me... I'm out
     

Share This Page