1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Slow connection between laptop/PC and Xbox 360

Discussion in 'Xbox 360' started by igoresku, Aug 12, 2013.

  1. igoresku

    igoresku Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    My Xbox 360 and laptop (Windows 7) are wiredly connected through Linksys WRT54GL. The laptop has JMicron PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Adapter, the router supports 10/100 Mbps and so the Xbox.

    When I try to transfer files from laptop to Xbox, the transfer is very slow. I counted with stopwatch and the connection is max 3 Mbps.

    Same situation is when I try to transfer files from desktop PC to Xbox. PC (Windows 7) has Intel PRO/100+ Management Adapter and is connected to router via wire too.

    On the other hand, the transfer between my laptop and my desktop PC is excellent, around 70 to 90 Mbps. So the problem is connection router -> Xbox.

    Router is connected to modem Huawei HG8245, which is also DHCP and DNS server.

    All cables and ports are working properly. I tested them yesterday. I replaced the cord between the Xbox and the router with a cord between the laptop and the router and then hooked the cable on another port but that didn't help.

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks in advance,
     
  2. richietea

    richietea Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    28
    This could be a number of things from Disabling wireless completely,shorter cables,removing transfer cables from electrical sources,disabling power managements on expansion drives or internal drives,firewalls,Av's.Googling this problem certainly mashes your brain as there are so many different workarounds that may or may not work.I found this article not so long back which could work.Try this one first and report back.


    Open Start Menu, right-click on Computer and select Properties
    Under Control Panel Home located on the left side of the window click on Device Manager
    You will get a list of all devices on your machine. Expand Network Adapters.
    Find your Network Card and double-click on it.
    Select Advanced tab. You will get a list filled with different options.
    Select Large Send Offload V2 (IPv4) and set the value to Disabled
    Do the same for Large Send Offload V2 (IPv6) if it is available
    Click OK
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2013
  3. igoresku

    igoresku Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
     
  4. igoresku

    igoresku Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello richietea,

    Thanks for your answer. But the workaround you wrote, with changes of Large Send Offload V2 (IPv4 and IPv6), didn't help.

    As a matter of other things:
    - My Ethernet cables from the router to the laptop and from the router to the Xbox are no longer than 6 feet (2 m). They are also away from electrical sources.
    - I disabled the firewall even before and that also didn't help.
    - I don't know why do I have to disable wireless completely, because the laptop and the PC from which I want to transfer files to Xbox are conected wiredly with the router, as same as the Xbox itself. Btw, I use wireless signal to connect my other laptop and my phone to my network. The wireless and the wired signals don't interfere, so they can not degrade or block one eachother.
    - I don't know what do you mean by disabling power managements on expansion drives because I don't have any Xbox, laptop or PC external drives attached.

    My laptop (the one from which I transfer the files to the Xbox) has JMicron PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Adapter and Atheros AR9285 wireless adapter (150 Mbps) but my router Linksys WRT54GL is little bit older and supports only 100 Mbps wired and 54 Mbps (20 Mbps in practice) wireless transfers. Knowing that, I use only Ethernet cables to transfer files from my laptop to my router and from my router to my Xbox 360. Btw, yesterday I read that Xbox 360 has 802.11n integrated adapter, meaning that it can support up to 600 Mbps (up to 300 Mbps in practice) wireless transfers, but as I said my router supports only 54 Mbps wireless or 802.11g standard. So I leaved the wired connection between my router and my Xbox.

    To make a long story short, I disabled the firewall on every computer (two laptops and desktop PC), I connected every computer and Xbox with the router wiredly or wirelessly and nothing helped. The transfer from any computer to the Xbox is no more than 3 Mbps, which is very slow. On the other hand, the transfer between the computers is 90 Mbps wiredly or 20 Mbps wirelessly, which leads to conclusion that something's wrong with my Xbox connection. Maybe because it is modded.

    Obviously I will only have to use my USB stick to transfer games from my PCs to my Xbox. The USB ports of my Xbox are fine and work properly. Oddly, there is no problem when I use Windows Media Centar to stream on Xbox or when my son starts most of the Xbox games directly from the laptop. Only, he can not watch the cinematic parts of the games. The signal is choppy.

    Igor,
     
  5. richietea

    richietea Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Is your Xbox Jtagged or Rgh??..
     
  6. igoresku

    igoresku Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I think is RGH-ed because it is Xbox 360 S and has Dashboard version: 2.0.16203.0

    I also have problem connecting it on the Internet: DNS Error. The DNS server can't resolve Xbox Live server names. This may be a problem outside your home network, and you may need to contact your ISP.

    Xbox ------> Modem --- X ---> Internet ------> Xbox Live

    As you can see I can't even go online at all. Xbox Live (who will ban me, I know) is a step further (step beyond) on this path.

    The only software that I installed on is XeXMenu 1.2 and Freestyle 3.

    Igor,
     
  7. igoresku

    igoresku Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hmmm, I just found this:

    Xbox 360 SLIM Reset Glitch Hack (RGH) Dual Boot Option

    This superb modifications gives your the functionality of a standard console and at the flick of a switch, your console is transformed into a fully Jtagged console.

    This can only be carried out on any SLIM Xbox 360 console.

    The dashboard version is not an issue as we can carry this out on any version of dashboard even 2.0.16203

    The console in standard mode can be used as a normal console and also used on the Xbox Live service, however in Jtagged mode, the console CANNOT be used on the XBox Live Service.

    Once Jtagged you options available to you are endless, you can install alternative dashboards like Freestyle dash or Xexmenu. Run Homebrew and play emulators to play some of the old classic games available.


    Which is confusing. First of all, the headline speaks about RGH and the text says "your console is transformed into a fully Jtagged console" :).

    Second of all, the Dashboard version is same as mine and these days I read that Dashboards versions newer than 7000 can not be Jtagged. Maybe my information is old because I read text on forums older than 2 years in general.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2013
  8. richietea

    richietea Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Just reading up on this problem If your Console is RGH obviously it will have 2 modes..Xbox live and freestyle dash.If so ping your consoles Ip address from your laptop and see what the results are.Reinstall FSD,PASV disabled.Enable DHCP on your router.Also on the pc make sure its set to auto negotiation or 100 half-duplex..(not sure where the setting is though.Use a direct connection pc/xbox if live is not what you need.I do believe the duplex setting is in device manager where is dependent on your network hardware.

    Also this Tut may help with a general setup of your FTP

    http://www.xpgamesaves.com/topic/49361-how-to-ftp-your-jtagrgh/
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2013
  9. igoresku

    igoresku Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Afternoon richietea,

    My console doesn't have 2 modes or it has but I don't know how to boot in Normal, from where I will connect to Xbox Live. Or maybe it boots in Normal (because I have to manually start FSD) but then again this is the only one mod of booting and I still can not connect to internet even if I do not start FSD.

    I tried but I can not ping the console. These days I was searching the internet and everyone said that this is impossible. I can only see the IP and MAC address of it on a router's interface if I set the console to get automatic address from DHCP.

    I installed FSD a week ago so I don't see any reason to reinstall it.

    The network cards of my laptop and desktop PC are already set to auto negotiation.

    I also tried direct cable connection PC/Xbox but then connection was pretty unstable and few times it frozes my console.

    Btw, thank you for the link. I will definitely setup FTP and see what will happen.

    Igor,
     
  10. richietea

    richietea Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    28
    If the console is a slim then its probably RGH.Turn on the console with the eject button if it boots into Xell then its RGH.If your console is on a dashboard version is above 7379 it cannot be Jtagged.xexmenu is obsolete go with FSD.Look through the HDD side of the console if you see flashing lights then you have a RHG.Here is a link to the differences between both systems.

    http://www.thetechgame.com/Forums/t=791843/beginners-guide-to-jtag-rgh-consoles-01-01-2013.html

    Once all this is established then it might give us a clearer indication of why you have slow transfer speeds.Hope this helps..Rich
     
  11. igoresku

    igoresku Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Rich,

    I followed your instructions. It's definitely RGH cause it boots into Xell and I can see flashing lights from the HDD side.

    Thanks again for the link, I will read it carefully and if I find some solution in the future I will write to you. For now, I'm leaving this conv.

    By, Igor

    PS: Do you get some points for the answers on this forum? If you do, tell me how can I vote for you because I can't find such a link.
     
  12. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,013
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    78
    To my knowloedge slims aren't jtagable

    A rgh & jtag are not one & the same it's either 1 or the other not both,jtags don't require modchips

    PS: No!
     

Share This Page