1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Slow down speeds after moving to BT Homehub

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by breaktime, Jun 7, 2007.

1. breaktime

breaktime Member

I have recently changed from using virgin broadband to BT Homehub, since then I have had very slow download speeds, admittedly I am downloading some newish films but I still dont think I am getting the results I should be...

When I was using broadband I was getting download speeds of around 100kb/s, now I'm lucky to get 10kb/s

The speeds I am getting can be found here...

http://www.100uploads.com/download.php?file=8799d96f10a5f28515888b4b624da7f9

Do these look right? should I be getting Higher speeds?

Sorry to sound thick... But Im quite new to azureus and torrents.

I am using TCP and UDP port 61303. Do I need to add this port to my router and firewall(xp), well I have done it anyway, and it dont make any difference.. I have opened up all the ports on the wireless network connection (which i thought was gonna solve it, but it didnt)

Is there any other information I can provide?

Ive just read from the bad isp's section that BT limits BitTorrent bandwidth, would this be why im getting the problem?

Please help cuz its really doin me in!

J

2. mistycat

mistycat Active member

The limiting of torrents by BT explains your speeds. You could try downloading overnight to see how that works or, I doubt it will help, using Protocol Encryption. You can try port 1720 which is used by other processes but I don't have much hope for it either.

3. breaktime

breaktime Member

Cheers for getting back to me mistycat..

That all makes sense..