1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Slow PC startup & poss Malware?

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by markio, Apr 27, 2005.

1. markio

markio Member

Good morning all,

First of all i just want to congratulate you all on a fine forum, i'm a newbie to the DVD backingup/burning world and since fitting my DVD writter on saturday i've found searching these forums to be a massive help.

Now enough with the sucking up, i have an issue that i'm in the middle of. I'm using DVD shrink v3.2 to create an ISO image file and Nero to burn that file. The actual compression and burning process work a treat.
    My problem is this (and i'll try to start from the beginning):
    I installed DVD shrink on Sunday, created ISO image and burnt that successfully the same day (Futurama in case your interested), as i was previously downloading torrent files (W/Azureus) i restarted that app and resumed the downloads. I left the PC running for a few days whilst downloading. Now yesterday when i turned the PC back on it took around 4 minuters to boot up, the windows XP screen with the scrolling bar was very slow.
    I used Spybot to check for spyware etc and it found 8 instances on Malware. I cleaned these, rebooted but the problem remained. After a bit of playing i found a restore point that worked (Sunday before instalation of DVD shrink). After the restore PC boot up time was normal (say 1 minute). I reinstalled DVD shrink, rebooted and problem was back. Scan for malware again found 8 instances (i don't remeber if they were the same ones).
    CPU temperatures are running normal, around 50 degress whilst ripping, 40 when idle.
    This monring i returned the PC back to the Sunday restore point, rebooted and everything seem fine (and i presume with DVD shrink no longer installed). That's as far as i've got as i had to get to work.