1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SmartRipper or DVD Decrypter Crashing System

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by henryp, Aug 9, 2004.

  1. henryp

    henryp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Problem: When using Smartripper or DVD Decrypter my PC locks up completely the only way to restart is to hit reset or power cycle. It then will not boot, C: drive is not accessable i.e. invalid drive specification. and Emergency Recovery Disk or Recovery Console fixmbr etc all fail to recover system. Sometimes can rip one or two DVD ok but eventually it will lock up.
    Before this error occured I ripped over 60 DVDs and burnt using CloneDVD2 onto Samsung 1x media without problem.
    The problem first occured when I was using two sessions of DVD Decrypter to rip two DVD simultaneously, it worked fine for 6 DVD then crashed as above.
    After rebuilding the system I have not installed DVD Decrypter but SmartRipper causes same crash now.
    I now have a Ghost image of system plus all apps except DVD software so I can experiment and easy restore.
    System: AMD XP2400+, 512MB RAM, 200GB WD HDD, NEC ND-2500A 1.07, LiteON DVDROM, NVIDIA GeForce4 64MB, Win2000 SP4 with all updates/patches, ASPI Layer 471a2, Trend PC security 2004 latest ref scanned clean, Spybot & Adaware latest both scan clean. CWShredder Clean. All background progs disabled during ripping/burning.
    So Far: I have tried updating ND-2500A to 1.07, Resetting PC BIOS to defaults, disconnecting Liteon DVDROM & using NEC and vice versa crashes with either drive, tested RAM all OK. Can burn data Backups to DVD OK Can capture from DV camera convert and burn to DVD OK
    HELP Please. If anyone can suggest something I have not thought of or a different ripper to try I would greatly appreciate it.
     
  2. smsmike

    smsmike Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    This is going to sound strange, but if you have a program that keeps track of your processor temperature and the power supply voltages - and will also give you a screen display - you might want to try keeping that display (on top) so you can monitor the 5 and 12 V outputs while using one or the other of your problem programs. A quick drop in either of those two voltages, while the Processor and HD are under a load, will crash the system in a heart beat.

    Nearly the same thing happened to me about 14 months ago, and the symptoms you are describing sound exactly like what my system did when the factory Power Supply started to crap out. After I put in a new, heavy duty Power Supply, everything worked perfectly again.

    - Mike -
     
  3. henryp

    henryp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks Mike, What your saying makes a lot of sense. As a Tech I've traced many a fault to a supply dropping out but didn't think of it till your post. My PC supply is geting on 6 years old and is the only part not upgraded over the years. I have an almost new supply in another PC I'm not using so I'll swap them out and try again.
    I'll let you know how it goes. Thanks
    Regards
    Colin
     

Share This Page