1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Snes station

Discussion in 'PS2 - CD backup discussion' started by Billyjim, Jan 20, 2005.

  1. Billyjim

    Billyjim Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I bought a snes station form Morbid-backups.net and it does not work the files on the disc are; "snes emu" ".001" ".002" ".003", "system" and a folder full of roms. Is there something missing?
     
  2. PimpDawg

    PimpDawg Guest

    We need more info.!. Do you have a modchip or use swap magic? What happens when you put in the disc? You know, it is really easy making your own SNES disc, so I don't know why you spent money buying one?
     
  3. ryudee

    ryudee Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    could you explain how you make a snes cd iv wasted 3 cd's trying now I have a mod chip as well by the way
     
  4. PimpDawg

    PimpDawg Guest

    Alright, I believe there are 2 tutorials on this site, I will give you mine...

    Things you will need:

    --SNES STATION
    --Nero 6 (demo version will work)

    1)To start, open up the Nero Burning Rom

    2)Make sure the tab in the upper left hand corner is on CDand that CD-ROM(ISO) is picked in the left hand side

    3)Under theMultisession tab, make sure "No Multisession" is chosen

    4)Under theISO tab, the ISO File Name length must be set to "Max of 31 chars (ISO level 2)", Format must be set to "Mode 2/XA", and Character Set to ISO 9660 (standard ISO cd-rom."

    5)Now click New in the upper right hand corner.

    ---Going Outside of Nero quick---

    Make sure you have extracted the SNES STATION files into a seperate folder. Also make sure you have your SNES roms in 4 folders labeled like this, A-H, I-M, N-S, T-Z. You may use more folders, but do that at your own risk. If you have to many files this may result in the disc not working; so that is why we are only making 4 folders for the roms to go into. Also, keep it to around 150 roms total, I tried to put 400 on the first disc and it did not work so I had to cut the roms down.

    Now that you have everything ready, go back to Nero and you should be at a screen where you can drag and drop files and folders onto the blank screen.

    6)The files you need from the SNES STATION folder are these, INSTALL.CNF, SNES_EMU.ELF, and SYSTEM.CNF. Drag these files onto the blank screen to add them. Now, take the 4 folders with the SNES roms in them and drag them onto the screen. You should have a total of 7 things to burn.

    7)Now click "Burn the current compilation."

    8)On this screen, make sure to click "Finalize CD", and make sure the Write method is on "Disc at Once." Now burn at the lowest speed possible and your done!

    Hope this helps, let me know.

     
  5. ryudee

    ryudee Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thx for your 1 more question before I start am I using Data cd Because Im not sure which type of one im surposed to use thx again
     
  6. Billyjim

    Billyjim Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am using a no solder modchip and swap magic. When I put it in it says not a "valid ps2 disc" and bought it cause it was only a buck fifty.
     
  7. PimpDawg

    PimpDawg Guest

    Alright, I think your problem Billyjim is that the disc you are trying to play only plays in modded consoles, because on the non-modded consoles you need to put a special ps2 boot file on the cd make it work. Here is what I think you should do...

    Take your favorite roms off of the disc you already have and put them in a folder, but no more than around 100-150 roms total. Then, go to this site here and check out how to make a bootable cd on a non-modded console. http://snes-station.gamebase.ca/index.htm

    It is fairly simple and you should have no problems doing this yourself.

    ryudee... I don't understand what you mean when you ask me if you are using data cd's? Just follow my instructions and the game should work.

     
  8. ryudee

    ryudee Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok i see it now I have to use iso setting i been using data cd thx ill try soon then get back to ya thx for you help by the way would you know if it is possible to burn ripped psx games which i have downloaded frm the net onto the a disc which i can boot on my ps2
     
  9. PimpDawg

    PimpDawg Guest

    Yes, as long as you have a soldered modchip in your ps2 you can burn your ripped games and play them on your ps2. What chip are you currently using?

    I would recommend using CDRWIN to burn your ps1 games, here is a little tutorial on how to do it...

    Copying PS or PS2 games using CDRWIN

    Download a demo copy of CDRWIN 4.0a, because that is what I am going off of here.
    1. Open/run the CDRWIN program.
    2. Click on the 'record disc' button.
    3. Select your CD-Writer form the pull down menu.
    4. Click the 'load cuesheet' button. Select your downloaded image file and choose the .cue file.
    14. Double-check that the proper .cue file was selected. Set recording speed to '1X' for best results.
    15. Click on the 'start recording' button to begin the recording process.

    Now, some files will be in the .ccd format. These files can only be burned with CD Clone unless you convert the .ccd file, but I will not go into that process. Just download a trial of CD clone and install it. Open it up and click the "Write from image file" button. Find the image file for the game and click it and choose "next." Now click the game icon on the left hand side and make sure you set your writing speed to 1x. Burn the disc and your done.

    Let me know if you have any problems.
     
  10. Billyjim

    Billyjim Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I followed what you said and The guy that I bought it from did not have any of those files.
    It is working now.

    Thank you for your help
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2005
  11. PimpDawg

    PimpDawg Guest

    ryudee, for the .ccd file, I meant to say Clone CD, not cd clone. Sorry bout that.

    Billyjim, glad I could help you out!
     
  12. up4daz

    up4daz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Morbidbackups has horrible service,I have ordered from him in the past and most of what he has is corrupted or unfinished,there is a better site that charges $1.00 more per dvd-r and I have never had a problem with them. Morbidbackups are just bad news!!!
     
  13. Billyjim

    Billyjim Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    "Morbidbackups has horrible service,I have ordered from him in the past and most of what he has is corrupted or unfinished,there is a better site that charges $1.00 more per dvd-r and I have never had a problem with them. Morbidbackups are just bad news!!!"

    That is completely 100% true!
     
  14. ryudee

    ryudee Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    pimpdawg you tht cd programe its say my burner drive in cdrwin is not reconised what should i do as a have plenty of cd's to waste now
     
  15. PimpDawg

    PimpDawg Guest

    Ok, what kind of file(s) are you trying to burn? .ccd, .img, .nrg, cue/bin? Let me know this and I will tell you a better program to use other than CDRWIN. The only thing I can think of why CDRWIN will not recognize your drive is because your drivers are out of date? Try and update your cdrom driver and then try again? But before you do this let me know what kind of format the psx games are in.
     
  16. micolahan

    micolahan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey. have been reading this thread and it's exactly what i want
    however, my v9 ps2 is only modded with a flip top and so cannot play cd's! was wondering if this method can be used on dvd's instead?

    also can u point me in the direction of some webpages with more information about this subject (SNES on PS2)?

    ta, mic
     
  17. ryudee

    ryudee Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    it shud work mic i gt my snes workin as well also a ps1 from the iso i did thanx for your help
     
  18. PimpDawg

    PimpDawg Guest

    micolahan, with your question regarding SNES on the PS2, check out this site...

    snes-station.gamebase.ca

    For every other emulator for the ps2, check out this site...

    http://www.zophar.net/consoles/ps2.html

    Regarding your fliptop not being able to play cd based games, I don't know why that is? SNES STATION is a ps2 based game and should work fine in your flip top.
     
  19. micolahan

    micolahan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i've talked to a few ppl who have v9 ps2s with flip tops, and all of them have said that they can't run dvdrips on cd or nething.....maybe thi will play cos it isn't a dvdrip, just a small thing....thanks for the links

    ta, mic
     
  20. ryudee

    ryudee Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    aight patching iv got no clue as what to do
     

Share This Page