1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

soft mod an xbox 360

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by brownkid, Nov 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. brownkid

    brownkid Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i know now that you can chip an xbox 360 to mod it but i was wondering if there was a solderless solution like a softmod??
     
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. c4s4n0v4

    c4s4n0v4 Guest

    im wondering that too..
     
  4. 6Ripper9

    6Ripper9 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You have to flash the firmware of the 360's dvd drive. There's a tut on it here somwhere, just use the search bar.
     
  5. touran22

    touran22 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    bruv flashing it is soooo hard! the softmod im talking about!! u cant be a noob and try it!
     
  6. shinnster

    shinnster Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    flashing it is not soo hard, i thought the same but done abit of reading up about it and then finally took the plunge. it took about 20 mins from start to finish (including taking case off and connectig up to pc)

    go on.....do it!!
     
  7. touran22

    touran22 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    but i dunno were the sata plug is on my PC! and where do u get the "ground zero thing were u downlaod the FW hack!?
     
  8. shinnster

    shinnster Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the sata port will be on your motherboard inside the pc,can't miss it if you have one. if you dont have one then you can buy the pci card that has sata ports on it. I have pm'd you with some info.
     
  9. touran22

    touran22 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    ive never opened my PC to check but im pretty sure my Hard drive is connected via IDE. does this mean i dnt have sata port?
     
  10. shinnster

    shinnster Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    your hardrive probably will be connected via ide (unless its quite new) but that doesnt mean you wont have some sata ports on your motherboard.
     
  11. touran22

    touran22 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    ok what does a sata port look like? so i can see if i have one and also if i open my PC will it void my warrenty?
     
  12. PS2Menace

    PS2Menace Regular member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    A SATA port looks like a very little IDE port. It won't void your computer warrenty to open it up and have a look :)
     
  13. touran22

    touran22 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    u sure ywah cuz ma mum paid like £500 for the garuntee adn i asked her and she said if i opened it up it will void it!
     
  14. PS2Menace

    PS2Menace Regular member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I have never in the 20+ years ever heard of opening the side of the computer case voiding any warrenty. That's how you upgrade man :)
     
  15. handsom

    handsom Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Some computer companies, like Dell, put seals on their PCs, to prevent you from opening it, and changing hardware. It's honestly somewhat of a necessity, since people often damage PCs out of their own ignorance, after purchasing pre-built systems.
     
  16. beancg

    beancg Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i saw a tutorial on youtube but i dont know what website to get the mods plz some1 answer ASAP
     
  17. beancg

    beancg Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    im hooking my xbox 360 hard drive to my computer
     
  18. touran22

    touran22 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    ok but my PC doesnt have aside pannel! its one big case covering the whole PC can i take it off wid out voiding the garuntee?
     
  19. beancg

    beancg Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    is ne1 there
     
  20. 6Ripper9

    6Ripper9 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have a brand new Dell, and there aren't any seals on it anywhere. I took their crappy DVD drives out and put my own in. Unfortunately, they're using that new motherboard format, so I can't just go buy a new case so I can put my other drives in. Dell sucks anyway. I'll never buy from them again. But to get back on topic: I haven't flashed my drive yet, as I'm waiting for my PCI SATA card to come, but I've read countless tutorials, and even saw a couple video tutorials on how to do it, and it doesn't look/sound very hard at all. Once my card comes, and I complete the flash, I'll post results. I'm not that smart when it comes to PC, but it's the challenge that makes it fun.
     
  21. 6Ripper9

    6Ripper9 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That's probably the same tutorial I saw. By a guy named Textbook? He has another one on there too. He knows his stuff, and, he's younger than me, so I HAVE to be able to do it, lol.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page