1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Softmod options if you DONT have the retail HD?

Discussion in 'Xbox - Software discussion' started by BDot, Feb 6, 2008.

1. BDot

BDot Member

Hello all,

I'm an experienced Xbox modder (though I haven't modded on in some time), but I'm totally new to softmodding. I got a few Xbox's from some friends that I'm trying to get back up and running. Problem is, NONE of them have the retail HD's attached, and your guess is as good as mine as to where they are. In any case, I need some help...badly.

Simply put, I have no idea what to do here.

At my disposal I have:

-One fully working, modded Xbox (mine...it's v1.4), fitted with an X3 Chip (v3249 bios...I think).

-Three Xbox's that I hope to softmod, then install new 80Gb drives into. Again, I do NOT have the retail HD for any of them.

-WinPC & FileZilla for FTP'ing

-Slayers 2.7 Autoinstaller DVD.

-NDURE's Splinter Cell exploit saved on my Action Replay memory card.

-Copy of Splinter Cell (of course).

I was thinking that I could attach a blank 80GB to my working Xbox, format it through the X3 bios, FTP the MS Dash, UnleashX, and all that good stuff onto it, then drop it in one of my friend's 'Box.

We will just say that after a few hours, and several Amp'd induced fits of anger...this will not work.

So, I need someone to tell me, from the beginning, in the most noob friendly way possible, what exactly the hell I need to do to get these Xbox's out of my living room.

Thanks to all that respond.

2. lindy41

lindy41 Guest

I'm kinda confused on as what you what to do....softmodding is super easy and you already have all the materials so just look at some tutorials in the general discussion....as for the hard drive there are more tuts on unlocking your hdd.... if thats any help.....and get xbmc it will rock your world!!!

3. DLyon4

DLyon4 Regular member