1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Software Mod chip?

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by Sabrick, Sep 25, 2004.

  1. Sabrick

    Sabrick Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a V4 and I'm trying to play back up, imports and back up imports on it. so far, im trying to NOT install a mod chip because they are risky and exspensive, so here is my question:

    is there a software mod chip you can load onto a HD to use in conjuction with a PS2 so that you can play back up and imports with no physical Mod chip? thanks
     
  2. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    no. you can buy swap magic discs and a fliptop/slide card though.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]

    V9 PS2, flip top, SMD, DVDLoader
    Pioneer 107, ritek g04
    DVD Shrink, DVD Decrypter, Nero[/small]
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2004
  3. Sabrick

    Sabrick Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    swap magic dics and slide cards will allow you to pay both import/back up AND import back up games?
     
  4. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
  5. Sabrick

    Sabrick Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    which reminds me, if i have use HDloader with a HD filled with back up games, will i need some sort of mod chip to play those games? or will the HDloader cd take care of that for me
     
  6. Sabrick

    Sabrick Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    okay i rephrased to make a little more sense:

    Can I take a hard drive(that is meant for my ps2), plug it into a IDE cable that connected to a computer that has ANOTHER hard drive in it, load an ISO or Bin/cue file from the computer's hard drive to the PS2 hard drive, disconnect the ps2 harddrive from the computer and then load it into the PS2, run HD loader and then play THAT game? wheather it is a back up or import?
     
  7. aznbound

    aznbound Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yeah, that works. Its exactly what I do. Put the hd in the pc, dump some files on it, stick it in the ps2, and play.
     

Share This Page