1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Software recommendation for my Burner

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by Vortec30, Oct 6, 2004.

1. Vortec30

Vortec30 Member

Hi im new to dvd burning and have built a sweet computer with a 16x NEC Burner. I bought a OEM version of the burner and it came with no software. Im having a problem locating it. Can anyone help here? Someone told me I didnt have to even have software(firmware) with windows xp. Is this true?

By the way im using DVD Shrink, Dvd for free and Nero 6 ultra edition. Im very happy with it right now and just burned Empire Strikes back and Godfather and it looks great.

Have one problem though. I have a amd 3500 64 bit computer and when I am ripping the DVD to my HD, it seems to be kinda slow. It usually takes 30 mins to 45min with a kb/s rate starting at 2400 and ending up at around 4300-5000. Is this normal?

I have a friend whos rate is quite a bit higher and he has a slower computer then mine.

Thanks for your help. Id like to have my rip times incresed. Burning at 8x Np and very fast.

Last edited: Oct 6, 2004
  2. ScubaPete

ScubaPete Senior member

Hi vortec30,

Having XP means you don't have to drivers for your plug'n play stuff.

You MUST have firmware AND an ASPI layer -

Sit down, get comfortable and lets Let's go over your DVD burner's basics, Okie, Dokie ?

For that we'll have to turn on the TV to "The Wide Warped World of Sports," already in progress :)

(Our advertiser's here for a few words first - )

Remember fans, while watching our sports spectacular always check your DMA mode. When our PC gets "cranky" and "out of sorts", it could be you've slipped from your DMA mode to your PIO Mode. As we all know, it could happen to anyone, head to our site without delay and we'll return you to ScubaPete, already in progress -

http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/device/storage/IDE-DMA.mspx