1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Software way to find different parts of the computer?

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by OmriSama, Oct 5, 2007.

  1. OmriSama

    OmriSama Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Is there a program that can let me find out for example, the mobo or the PSU of my computer without opening it?
     
  2. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    All electronically tagged components (CPU, Disk drives, Motherboard, Sound and Video cards) can be picked up by programs such as everest, and most can be found in the device manager. The ones you can't find are the brands of your fans, your cables and your power supply, since there's no means of telling windows what they are inside. Why not just look yourself!
     
  3. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    OmriSama, edit your sig to conform to forum specs ASAP. you have 23 lines of text.
    1. Text-only signatures should have at most 5 lines of text.
     
  4. OmriSama

    OmriSama Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    ddp - done and done.

    sammoris - i can't open my computer and look it up myself because my dad says it'll void my warrenty.

    Ok it all started like this:

    Me and my dad bought me a computer for my barmitzva. Every small part of the computer was perfect. Good processor, good ram, lots of memory, and it's also a great HTPC. The only part which sucks about the computer is, as you know... the graphics card. 7350 LE. So, i wanted to upgrade it, but my dad had a different plan. He says that we should wait a few months and see what new deals they have on computers there so we could replace my computer for a newer better one while just paying a few more hundered dollars. I didn't like that plan because i already have more then 200 GB worth of games and stuff. And my dad wants me to back it all up to DVDs... ._. I'll need like a 20 DVDs >_>. So, i kinda wanna stick with the upgrading my graphics card part. So, i wanted to check if i can upgrade my graphics card, since i don't know if my mobo would be compatible, and if my PSU is compatible.

    Long story.

    EDIT - Motherboard.

    Field Value
    Motherboard Properties
    Motherboard ID 64-0505-000001-00101111-071107-Bearlake$0AAAA000_BIOS DATE: 07/11/07 19:52:07 VER: 08.00.14
    Motherboard Name Unknown

    Front Side Bus Properties
    Bus Type Intel AGTL+
    Bus Width 64-bit
    Real Clock 333 MHz (QDR)
    Effective Clock 1333 MHz
    Bandwidth 10665 MB/s

    Chipset Bus Properties
    Bus Type Intel Direct Media Interface
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2007
  5. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    You wouldn't be able to find out without opening the case I'm afraid.
     
  6. OmriSama

    OmriSama Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    -___-

    I don't know if i should stick to my plan or go with my dad's plan.
     
  7. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    In my experience, the power supplies of premade PCs are very unlikely to be able to support higher powered graphics cards without causing problems. You would probably need to upgrade the power supply, which will void the warranty, even if opening the case doesn't.
     
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    is the computer a name brand like dell or hp & if so what is the make & model# of it?
     
  9. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I don't think opening your case should void your warranty.
     
  10. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    unless there is a label on it that prevents the side panel from being slide off.
     
  11. OmriSama

    OmriSama Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    It's an HP computer. Prebuilt. Bought at Costco. I'm sorry i bought my computer from them because it's a bundle and if i want to return it i gotta pack my monitor and everything up.
    Crappy Costco.

    Anyway, how cxan i find my model number? and make number?
     
  12. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    It should be on a sticker on the top towards the back. If it's not there look around on the case you'll find it.
     
  13. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    If you don't see a sticker, you can probably find info from either documentation, sales receipt, or on the box for it. If you've not got any of those, you might be able to find the type of your system in your windows computer name, unless you've changed it.
     
  14. OmriSama

    OmriSama Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    K i got it.

    HP Pavillion: a6177c

    prod #: GG054AA

    S/N: MXF7310DK5
     
  15. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
  16. OmriSama

    OmriSama Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    These stats are incorrect. It says i have an Intel GMA. When in fact i have a GEForce 7350 LE.
     
  17. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    is that geforce a card or onboard video?
     
  18. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Well you probably have the onboard anyway, but your PC still comes with a video card.
     
  19. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Indeed, those are the motherboard specs, not those of the whole PC.
     
  20. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    It seems you have a PCI-E 16x slot so you can just get a new video card and stick it in there. Be sure you get a PCI-E video card, most card are PCI-E these days anyway so it shouldn't be too difficult.
     

Share This Page