1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SOME BAD NEWS GUYS

Discussion in 'Digital TV - UK & Europe' started by cableview, Jan 5, 2008.

  1. cableview

    cableview Guest

    my brother works for a uk cable network and told me in confidence about the new plans for illegal cable boxes.....a new system which operates a pin only view will be put in place starting from march all subscribers will be sent new cards on feb. all paying channels will operate on demand with only the free to air left on. the new cards will require pin start up.this leaves all boxes like starview,eurovox,dreambox,etc useless unless someone can bypass the network pin and create on demand functions for all boxes.....sorry for the bad news hope someone can crack this soon.
     
  2. cableview

    cableview Guest

    has anyone got a crack for tutv yet no way am i paying virgin for setanta.
     
  3. Damoirl

    Damoirl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can you say which UK cable company is doing this? I wonder if the same will be put in place in Ireland. I'm sure it will eventually... someone will crack it before too long anyway.. still bad news..
     
  4. cableview

    cableview Guest

    i cant really tell you his company but its one of the best in france and they have been drafted in to deal with the system i cant complain ive had a good five months out of my box.
     
  5. karljd

    karljd Regular member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ive been hearing all these rumours since i bought my box this time last year,so i would advice people not to panic as there are a lot of well informed members in here who no excatly whats going on and dont needlessly panic people.
     
  6. ivorbigun

    ivorbigun Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    when you say paying channels do you mean channels you just don't subscribe to or channels like the porn ones which you got to ring up for anyway?
    what cable network does your bro work for then? dunno but this sounds like BS to me.

    P.S. your making this thread very hot by mentioning all the names of the boxes like that and using words like ill*g*l with them.
     
  7. cactikid

    cactikid Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,617
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    i agree thread should be closed
     
  8. cableview

    cableview Guest

    wish i hadnt bothered telling yous now if thats your attitudes.....keep on buying the boxes....give me a laugh on march.
     
  9. ivorbigun

    ivorbigun Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    if you tell me what cable company your talking about then i might take you seriously, why do you have to be so serective? its not like your gonna get in any trouble for it.
     
  10. karljd

    karljd Regular member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Well said ivor what brother is he talking about 2nd twice removed lol,and by the way cableview hope your never looking for help with that attitude
     
  11. cableview

    cableview Guest

    only telling yous what i know and i end up with all this hassle KEEP BUYING BOXES thats my message to yous...goodbye.
     
  12. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I go for a few days and here we go LOL :)
     
  13. pgmr

    pgmr Guest

    I guess thats not true ;)

    Here in Switzerland our provider uses Nagra 1 and Nagra 2. Nagra 1 AutoUpdate is public, but there are no Nagra 2 keys.

    Rumors say, they will even switch to NDS, which I doubt. From what I heard, I think they will switch to the newest card generation from Kudelski. I think the old boxes could get a software update and use the cards without box swap.

    If they turn off Nagra 1 the screens will go black. Then someone need to get the new algorithm and the keys. You box then will need a new emulator.

    So it is possible to at least temporarily kill the pirate boxes with new smart cards. The question is how much it will cost your provider.
     
  14. ivorbigun

    ivorbigun Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well thats it you see, its gonna cost the cable company a lot of money to investigate all these boxes and its just not worth it, here in the uk virgin and sky compete against eachother and its gonna get virgin alot more customers cuz of these boxes being so widely availabe. it was one of the reason i scrapped sky for cable, well that and you get a tv phone and broadband package really cheap with virgin i'm saving loads of money.

    p.s. are you that guy who commented on my eurov0x youtube video?
     
  15. Damoirl

    Damoirl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hopefully it will cost more than its worth. My cousins friend works in nthell and he says they make plenty from the standard cable subscription anyway.

    There was an article in the paper the other day about digibox suppliers being criminals and it went on to say how they will be making examples out of a few people...siezing at docks...blah blah blah..
     
  16. MICKAH

    MICKAH Active member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,764
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    98
    I would love to know where in the docks these box come in as the majority are sent be a carrier such as TNT, Interlink into Ireland.
     
  17. JohnDough

    JohnDough Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    There might be something in it as Nthell seem to be updating their boxes now , do a scan and you will see the software now in Eire.
     
  18. jboyle

    jboyle Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    how will we be able to see the software if we do a scan in ireland?
     

Share This Page