1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Some games don't work

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by notbeavis, Jun 22, 2007.

  1. notbeavis

    notbeavis Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a Wiikey and some of the backuped games that I burned work but others give me "Unable to read the disc" when I try to play them.
    All games were burned the same way (using ImgBurn on DVD-R).

    Any ideas on what could be causing the problem?
     
  2. Brodde

    Brodde Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Beats me, I have the same problem. All games I,ve burned so far work fine except for Resident Evil 4 Wii Edition. I also have the Wiikey and am using Verbatim Dvd-R to burn with Nero v6 at 4x speed.
     
  3. afeld

    afeld Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26

    Did you go into the WiiKey config disc and change your region to "all" (or something like that, I'm at work now and can't check. I think it's actually a Yes or No thing)

    I did that, and as soon as I did, my Wii recognized them as valid Wii games, but they still won't play. I can get the game to show up in the channel, and when I click on the channel, I see the pre-game screen, but when I hit "Start", it goes to a black screen and doesn't play. This only happens to games I downloaded, and only some (zelda and warioware's smooth moves are two that did this for me)

    I see a few people post about it, but no answers yet... Any help would be appreciated!
     
  4. rob&keri

    rob&keri Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi mate,

    I'm having the same problems. COD III, Red Steel, Spiderman 3, and a few others dont work for me. I either get a black screen or a error message after I insert the disc. I have tried patching the iso's if they are NTSC but still no luck

    Rob
     
  5. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    First off lets see if the game disc are region compatible with your Wii. If they are not region compatible then nothing we do will fix the issue.

    @notbeavis, rob&keri and afeld

    What is the title of the game?
    What region are the game disc?
    What Region is your Wii?

    All out of region game disc are not region compatible with all Wii systems. Below is a guide that shows what game disc are region compatible and what game disc are not.

    PAL Wii Owners look under the NTSC(U) TO PAL and NTSC(J) TO PAL section of the guide.

    NTSC(U) Wii Owners look under the PAL TO NTSC(U) and NTSC(J) TO NTSC(U) section of the guide.

    NTSC(J) Wii Owners look under the NTSC(U) TO NTSC(J) and PAL TO NTSC(J) section of the guide.

    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/index.php/Wii_Region_Free_Patcher_Compatibility_List#NTSC-U_.28USA.29_to_PAL
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2007
  6. notbeavis

    notbeavis Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have an NTSC Wii and the game is The Legend of Zelda Twilight Princess, also NTSC.
     
  7. rob&keri

    rob&keri Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Mine is various games both ntsc and pal, zelda, spiderman 3, mario football, res evil 4, I have tried burning with both nero and IMGburn.

    I downloaded the back ups if that makes a difference, I have a PAL wii
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2007
  8. Scruffy29

    Scruffy29 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    try diffrent media
     
  9. notbeavis

    notbeavis Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The media that I tried works for some games.
    Could the same media work for some games and not work for others?
     
  10. rob&keri

    rob&keri Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Have burnt about 5 games with no probs (GO5's) then it all fell apart and I'm getting errors with Nero and INGburn now. Could the burner be shagged?
     
  11. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    @rob&keri

    Be more specific with the game title and region the game title is in.

    Some are NTSC and Some are PAL will not help.

    So list the game and what region that game is in.

    @notbeavis

    Since your Wii is NTSC(U) and the game disc is NTSC(U) then it should work.

    Try different media for the backup as suggested above. I used Taiyo Yuden and had some backups that worked and others wouldn't.

    I went to Maxell DVD-R and a;; backups work perfect for me. So even the high quiality media might not work that well with your Wii.
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2007
  12. notbeavis

    notbeavis Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks, I'll try different media.
    Any recommendations for what media to use?
     
  13. rob&keri

    rob&keri Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    larrylje

    Thanks for all your help, its a little hard as I downloaded them and just changed the name to the game and got rid of all the other stuff. I held them on the computer for a while before I got my Wii done, Pirates is a PAL, Res Evil 4 is US (I have tried 60Hz), Mario strikers is a PAL too.

    Well one thing is certain, its not the drive. I've just re-burnt one of the games that played and its fine, so its got to be the iso's that are the problem
     
  14. jnaks

    jnaks Regular member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    are you sure you aren't getting some unpacking errors from your .rar extractor when you unpack it? (ie. unexpected end, etc). your downloads can be incomplete (yes, even if all the files are there or the description file says its complete). sometimes, the download just doesn't make it all the way over and your newsgroup reader won't say anything (mine puts it in caps). and yes it is possible to get an un-rar'd .iso from the .rar packs even though there are errors -- in which case you'd have very little chance of a functional burn after that. make sure your rar-extractor reports errors to you.

    it could also be your burn rate or the media you're using. try a lower burn rate (6x or less). I have no choice and can only burn 2x on one machine but i have only gotten one coaster (actually it was ok at first, but sorta 'died' after a few uses) off some cheap brand discs. on the contrary, i also have my mac which does beautiful burning on my 16x taiyo yuden discs. on that topic, many higher speed medias even state on their labeling that drives that aren't especially new can have issues with the faster media. sometimes, the best bet is to get slower media (like 8x or 4x) and burn at that lower speed. also, try not to do anything while its burning (no matter how fast your computer is, you never know).

    just some tips that might help. oh and something that might be interesting...verbatim and taiyo yuden are generally thought of as the best brands -- taiyo yuden actually manufactures most of Verbatim's good stuff ;)
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2007
  15. ninjapath

    ninjapath Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the problem is the modchip, as of now no modchip is 100 percent compatible with import games. But i found it odd that you having probem while playing it, if it boot from the start then it should worked fine, other than that it just bad media.
     
  16. rob&keri

    rob&keri Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi guys, thanks for all the help. I think that I've sorted out the problem and have only one test to make.

    I think I had a bad batch of media, somewhere on the lines of 15 coasters made :(

    I have now re-burned three working games and they play fine, I have used Nero and IMGburn to burn the iso's straight off the comp. I have also used IMGburn to make an iso off one off the back ups and just have to burn it and conform it works to confirm it was just a bad batch of GO5's

    Thanks for all the time and effort by you guys to help me, this is why I love this site :)
     

Share This Page